Browned Butter Vegetables with Almonds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Wilemon
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
If you perfer your vegetables mostly tender, cook them briefly first in about an inch of water,(about 1/2 way cooked) then drain and add to browned butter mixture, once the wine is added the butter will slow greatly with browning, watch closely for first signs of browning, wait for nutty aroma, then add wine, then vegetables and allow to simmer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
A wonderful, flavorful vegetable dish...we've had it twice within the past week!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Oakmont, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
This was a wonderful side dish! I used broccoli & little button mushrooms; I made more butter than called for; I did not use onions because my daughter & grandson were eating w/ us & neither of them likes onions, so I subbed onion powder for flavor instead. What they don't know won't hurt them. ;o) I didn't have fresh red peppers so I used jarred roasted red pepper instead. The wine I used was a chardonnay. We will be having this over & over again....thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
Tasty but not as good as I thought it was going to be. I didn't get the nutty flavor I was hoping for. Oh well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
Very tasty. Made as directed except used salt, pepper, and a dash of garlic powder. this was a very colorful side dish to accompany white fish. My husband raved about it. Will definitely make again. I may try snap green beans in it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2006
Great vegetable dish, no leftovers :) thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YOYO78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenner, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Hermitage, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
Broccoli and Cauliflower have found their soul mate! I made this tonight and loved it so much that I made more of the butter with seasoning and then I spooned cooked basmati rice over it and cooked just long enough to infuse the flavor. We served these with rice and grilled pork chops. I will definantly keep this recipe handy- it would be great to serve when entertaining!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sugar City, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
We gobbled it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SaresMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rexburg, Idaho, USA
Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2006
My 1-year-old daughter simply doesn't eat broccoli or cauliflower...until now! I substituted apple juice for the wine, and everyone at the table loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
I'm only giving this a 3 star rating because I wasn't blown over by this side dish. It was something different to try out and at some point in the future I may use this again as a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Broccoli with Garlic Butter and Cashews

See how to make a simple broccoli side dish with garlic and cashews.

How to Roast Winter Vegetables

Learn how to roast seasoned root vegetables to bring out their earthy flavors.

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States