Browned Butter Vegetables with Almonds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
I used cashews on green beens and it was fantastic. So don't feel that you have to make such an array of vegetables to make this recipe work for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leia Spencer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aldergrove, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
VERY good recipe! I wasn't sure at first of the ingredient combo and the kids, but even they woofed it down. Pretty easy to make, too! The only thing is that it takes MUCH longer than 5 minutes to cook. But, other than that, very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Too much butter, but great overall end result. Husband loved it. I added mushrooms and used fresh garlic in place of the garlic salt/pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
Delicious! I used more cauliflower than broccoli (didn't have a full 2 cups of broccoli on hand) but totaled the two out to 4 cups, and I also didn't have any bell peppers but used a bit more onion than called for (I used a large red onion and cut it into 2-3 inch strips rather than diced it). I also took a reviewer's advice and pre-cooked my broccoli and cauliflower a bit, boiled them in some chicken broth for flavor. A very yummy way to spice up your vegetables!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsJPS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
Another Allrecipes dish to stay in my meal lineup. My DH proclaimed them the best! "Can we have this again soon", was his final comment. Excellent Wilemom!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
This is so good if you add a tsp of red pepper flakes, and omit the nuts that makes it a 4...... I made some with the nuts and no spiciness and they were about a 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KissTheChefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
This was very tasty! My 4yo and 2yo enjoyed it as well. For those who didn't taste the 'nuttiness,' make sure you let the butter brown - this takes at least 10-15 minutes on low-medium heat - otherwise you just get the 'plain' butter taste. I also decreased the butter by 1/3 - still delicious. The almonds accented the dish perfectly. I served it with shrimp scampi and garlic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
Enjoyed! I halved the butter and it could still be decreased. I steamed my veggies for several minutes beforehand because my girls won't eat crisp tender veggies, however they wouldn't touch these. Regardless, my husband and I liked them. Might make again with the a slight decrease in butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyofRedHeads

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
This is the best, I could eat this everyday. The nutty flavor goes well with veg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownstown, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
Yum! Celeste said, "If you haven't tried this recipe yet, you should." So I did, and she was right. I like my veggies barely tender, so I cut them into large chunks and florets instead of 'chopping' them, blanched the broccoli and cauliflower quickly as the submitter recommended (I threw the red pepper in at the end, just to heat it). I followed the butter/almond instructions exactly, using garlic powder with salt and pepper because I don't have garlic salt or garlic pepper. Excellent! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli with Garlic Butter and Cashews

See how to make a simple broccoli side dish with garlic and cashews.

How to Roast Winter Vegetables

Learn how to roast seasoned root vegetables to bring out their earthy flavors.

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States