Browned Butter Vegetables with Almonds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Loved the combination of flavors in this side dish! Before making this dish I boiled a pot of water, added the broccoli and cauliflower and let it cook for a minute, drained, and set aside. I also toasted some almonds. I used only a 1/4 cup butter because I thought a 1/2 cup was a bit too much. In the skillet with butter, I added a piece of garlic, chopped, then the red bell peppers, wine, broccoli and cauliflower. I stirred to combined on medium low heat. I seasoned with salt and black pepper, to taste. Lastly, I added the toasted almonds over everything. The browned butter with almonds gave this a nutty flavor to these vegetables. I loved the tenderly crunch from the red bell peppers and its sweetness. The bright red color of the red bell peppers looked so pretty in this dish. I liked the aroma of the butter with wine and garlic. The almonds gave this a nice texture with a nutty crunch. I served alongside with incredible cheesey turkey meatloaf and bacon rosemary mashed potatoes, from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
I didn't measure, so I don't know if I was close to following the recipe or not, but it was DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: North Potomac, Maryland, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
Served this with the BAKED PASTA that was submitted by Lisa Stinger and it went very well together. Will definately do again! Substituted a tiny bit of Italian Dressing for wine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momward

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hueytown, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
I've never been so excited about getting a second helping of vegetables. Absolutely loved these. Didn't have bell pepper on hand, but I'm sure it's just as good with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingCutie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
I admit - I changed things. I do this base and add it to ALL of my veggies - as well as rice dishes!! : I toast the almonds for about 2 minutes in the oven, brown the butter on med-low with garlic salt and onion powder, add the almonds...and continue stirring until the butter turns brown - and then mix in whatever veggies/rice/chicken dish that I have. This is TO DIE FOR!! I typically am not a fan of veggies....let alone almonds, but there is something about this combination that leaves me craving veggies!! My sister made it and agrees!! If you have picky eaters - you gotta try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chester Springs, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Exton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
With a little less butter a fantastic dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Delish! Love that I can throw in almost any veggie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
This was amazing! So easy and great flavors. I make a different vegetable dish each week for a family dinner, and this is the first one that my brother asked when I would make it again. A few notes: - I only used 1/4 cup butter - instead of the garlic salt & garlic pepper (don't have any of that), I used 1/2 tsp VegeSal (you could just use salt), 1/2 tsp pepper, and 1/2 tsp minced garlic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Excellent. I didn't use almonds, but did use a sweet white wine. So Good! Will definitely use about 1/2 less butter next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dommiedime

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Good. I used lemon pepper as I didn't have any nor have I seen it at the store before. I recommend toasting the sliced almonds in the oven or on the stove top so they get noticeably crunchy as cooking them with the vegetables does not achieve this. If using frozen vegetables (I used 'California' mix) I also recommend steaming then tossing with the butter mixture, otherwise it becomes all water-y and the nuttiness of the browned butter is lost (that's what happened to me!). Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-30 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli with Garlic Butter and Cashews

See how to make a simple broccoli side dish with garlic and cashews.

How to Roast Winter Vegetables

Learn how to roast seasoned root vegetables to bring out their earthy flavors.

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States