Browned Brussels Sprouts with Orange and Walnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I loved this recipe! The only things I did differently were: 1) used peanut oil (because that's what I had) 2) added dried cranberries, tossed in when I added everything else into the large bowl. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
I have hated brussel sprouts since I was a kid and was made to choke them down as part of my dinner. I have had such an aversion to them that it bordered on a phobia. I kept hearing people say that they loved them and decided it must have been the way my mom made them so I decided to try them. Several years after coming to this decision I finally got the courage to attempt them with this recipe. I LOVED THEM!!! They were tender and nowhere near the bitter ones I had as a child. The only reason I didn't give this 5 stars was that my husband didn't care for them. I only dinged them slightly for that because he's not a vegetable person anyway. I will definitely make them again. I made them with olive oil and skipped the walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Good but needed a little more flavor??? Will def try again and spruce them up a bit....maybe a splash of grand marnier? Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Delicious recipe exaclty as written. Add this to your list of recipes that make brussel sprout taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Loved this recipe! Easy to make in cast iron skillet. Never found a recipe for brussels sprouts I liked until now. Husband liked too. Used toasted sesame oil since didn't have walnut. Added a little minced garlic, fresh ginger and green onion just for fun. Added juice from 2 oranges and zest from 1. Tasted good but once I added the toasted walnuts it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
I love brussel sprouts;And this recipe is fast & simple,also great flavor. used olive oil no walnut oil on hand orange zest, Juice & walnuts used, GrEAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I recently starting eating Brussels Sprouts again, despite the memories of not liking them as a child. I now love them. I only had one pound of sprouts on hand, but used the stated amounts of the other ingredients. I browned mine in toasted sesame oil with a little grape seed oil as well, in my cast iron skillet. (I didn't have any walnut oil on hand.) I added more orange juice, as it quickly evaporated. The end product was delicious. I will definitely make this again. If I use two pounds of sprouts next time, I might roast them in the oven as mentioned in the other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newtown, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I liked this one very much. I roasted in in the oven at 350 for about 30 minutes on a cookie sheet instead of cooking in a skillet. I added the walnuts during the last 10 minutes. I added more oil than it called for. I used walnut oil but it was a little expensive. You could probably substitute olive oil or vegatable oil and it would be fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pekin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Minooka, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I'm not a huge fan of brussels sprouts. I loved this recipe! I had fresh baby sprouts on hand so I didn't halve them. They took a bit longer than 15 minutes to cook and we used double the amount of orange juice. We ran out of liquid so we added some lemon. I love citrus so this worked great for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
I guess I did something wrong making this. The sprouts never seemed to finish cooking and I doubled the time to try and get them to soften up. The flavor wasn't that great so I added more orange, fresh dill, some cinnamon, and some salt. When I finished the sauce tasted great but the sprouts were still too raw tasting. I ate the half of them that seemed done. I'll try roasting the rest tomorrow to finish their cooking. I'm guessing it might have been different if I'd used the frozen kind, they get softer a lot quicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rehema

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Truly Delicious Brussels Sprouts

See a simple technique for making tasty Brussels sprouts.

Duck Fat-Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make easy Brussels sprouts roasted with duck fat.

Saucy Brussels Sprouts

Learn how to make tasty Brussels sprouts in a warm orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States