Brown Sugar Smokies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2003
Although there have been almost 100 rave reviews, I felt the need to add to the list! I make these lil' smokies for every function and gathering. People may even ask to make sure I am bringing them. They are a fantastic little snack that are just as good cooled off as they are right out of the oven. I definitely take the advice of others, and totally smother the bacon wrapped smokies with brown sugar...the more the better. I have found that they turn out perfect when I wrap them up the night before, put them in a covered bowl with the brown sugar, toss well, and let "marinate" all night. Then, covering them with all of the sauce they've created, I bake them for an extended time until crisp. Not being surprised if they take 45 minutes. The bacon must be crisp for my taste. It's even better if midway, you turn them. You won't be disappointed with all of the compliments you'll receive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2002
This recipe is perfect for the slow cooker...just wrap the smokies, and layer in the pot. Once I get two layers in, I add a thin layer of brown sugar and continue with a layer of smokies and brown sugar until I run out of smokies or run out of room! Just let them cook for a few hours and you're all set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1629 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2003
Awesome! A big mess to make and worth every single bit of it. Definitely use a broiling pan with slits so the fat and suagr can drip through and away from the sausages, otherwise you'll have a greasy, soppy mess. I used center cut bacon as someone suggested..I used 3 lbs. of the bacon for 2 pkgs. of the Lit'l Smokies, cutting each piece of bacon in half (crosswise). I dredged the bacon in brown sugar before rolling it around the sausage, then put the rolls in a ziploc bag with more brown sugar coating all of them (as suggested.) They sat in the fridge all day and were soaked in syrup when I went to broil them . I broiled on the center rack of my electric oven for 10 to 12 minutes on each side (til browned and crispy), sprinkling with more brown sugar after turning. I've never seen anything I've made disappear so fast. Served with the dipping sauce someone else suggested-1/4 cup mayo, 1/4 cup red chili sauce, and a 1/2 cup of brown sugar...it's perfect with them. The sauce needs to be mixed well ahead of time for sugar to melt and flavors to meld. Absolutely delicious appetizer! Try it for your next gathering!! (P.S., I thought these were more of a 'manly' appetizer, but they were equally popular withe the women.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1183 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2003
If you want a WOW recipe ~ THIS IS THE ONE! Salty, Sweet and Savory ~ Men absolutely love it! I've made them 4 times now and they are always the first to go at a party. I only write this review (it has enough positives already!) because I found a way to make the cooking time go faster, produce less mess and get more sugar to "stick". I cut the bacon into thirds (too much bacon makes the outside crisp but the inside still undercooked) , dredge both bacon and smokies in the sugar to marinate (per advice of other reviewers), set them on a large plate with paper towels underneath and microwave them for approximately 1 min 30 secs, checking on them at every 30 sec. interval. After this, I switch the smokies into a pan and bake in the oven for 5 min and then, after sprinkling another layer of brown sugar, I broil for 4 or 5 min. The microwaving does the initial cooking and crisping of the bacon, but more importantly, catches all the fat that makes them greasy and tends to melt off the sugar. The additional cooking finishes off the baking and crisping and then the additional sugar and broiling produces that carmelized glaze. I also find that I don't need the toothpicks ~ I just stretch the bacon around and it sticks to itself. Enjoy! They're totally worth the fuss! and Thank You TINA!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
492 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2002
Simple, tasty recipe. To solve the brown sugar dilemma, I put about 2/3 cup of brown sugar in a mixing bowl, and rolled each smokie/bacon piece in it before placing it on a broiler pan, which I then put in the oven. Using a broiler pan allowed the fat to drain off while baking. It worked well, and each bite got it's share of the brown sugar glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
466 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
I've made these several times now and they've always been a big hit. I've modified the recipe a bit. I don't even use the skewers. I lay several slices of bacon on top of each other, slice them into one or one and a half inch pieces and wrap a piece around the smokie. Then, I sprinkle them all with brown sugar. (I sprinkle them about three times total during the cooking time....I like them better with more sugar than the recipe states.) I broil them for about 15 minutes or until bacon is crisp (center rack). Thank you so much for sharing the recipe Tina! I'll use this one for my Superbowl party and for many parties to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
298 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
These were incredible! To make things easy, I cut the bacon into 2 pieces (I used center cut bacon). Then I shook the smokies and bacon in ziploc bags with brown sugar. I assembled them, put them on a broiler tray and refrigerated them overnight. Before I popped them in the oven the next day, I sprinkled more brown sugar on them. After baking about 1 hour, they were crispy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
203 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeefJerkins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
These are FANTASTIC I've been asked to make several times! I roll the bacon wrapped smokies in brown sugar, use toothpicks instead of skewers, bake on a foil lined jelly roll pan, and then stagger in a crock pot to keep warm while the party lasts! Definitely a Keeper! Thanks Tina!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
157 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
These were very good. I wrapped them in bacon and COVERED them in brown sugar the night before, as others suggested. I put on more brown sugar then baked (had to broil to crisp bacon) and kept warm in crock pot. Next time I will use center cut bacon. Too much fat on my brand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
143 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
I made these for superbowl about an hour ahead of time, but they never made it to kikckoff, my husband had them eaten in about 10 minutes! Next time I will make a lot more! I added ALOT of extra brown sugar. I dipped the bacon in the sugar then rolled it around the sausage. I didn't need to secure them with anything, they stayed wrapped. I put them on a broiler pan (they make a lot of grease) and I also broiled the last 10 minutes to crisp them up good. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FloridaSunshine03

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sanford, Florida, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,523) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Brown Sugar Smokies

Nothing beats bacon-wrapped sausages on a stick!

Grilled Brown Sugar Pork Chops

Sweet and juicy, brown sugar pork chops.

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States