Brown Sugar Smokies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
It's great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
The best thing I've ever put in my mouth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Solis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iron Mountain, Michigan, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Made exactly as written. I had tried a version at a party the week before, which were fabulous! Just figured this was the same recipe. Not. To get the bacon crispy enough, it burned the sugar. They were not great. I asked her today for her recipe, and for 1 lb of bacon and smokies, she uses 2 cups of brown sugar and 1 stick of melted butter. OK, now this is sounding good! My sons will be in heaven w/ bacon, brown sugar, smokies AND butter. Yes, I know this is not healthy, but that is not the issue here. Mix the butter w/ 1 cup of sugar and pour over wrapped smokies. Sprinkle the rest of the sugar over all. I can also see how some suggestions to make ahead and let marinate would work. The sugar would most likely melt more. Ours were too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
I made these for an appetizer for my family Christmas this year-gone in the first 15 minutes...delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Fantastic For Parties. Love 'Em.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
These are a hit every time! I probably use way more brown sugar then the recipe calls for. I do put them together the night before, and soak them in brown sugar. Then I put them on a plate with lots of paper towel and microwave them for a minute or two. Next I put them on a wire cooling rack that is sprayed with cooking spray over a foil lined baking sheet, use the brown sugar marinade from the overnight soak and coat them, and then bake them for 5-10 minutes. Then I switch the oven to broil, and broil both sides until the bacon is nice and crispy! It is a bit time consuming, but I hate under cooked bacon and always get loads of compliments. I also serve it with with the dipping sauce someone else suggested - 1/4 cup mayo, 1/4 cup red chili sauce, and a 1/2 cup of brown sugar. Make this ahead of time too so that the sauce has time to meld together. And you may have to coax people into trying the sauce, but the combination is to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
These are very good and so easy to make!!! I have made them a couple times and both times they were the first food gone. I am asked all the time to make some more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
These are great except that they never last more than a few minutes! I did take some advice from another review and "dredged" the bacon and the smokies before I wrapped them. I did not use skewers or toothpicks until I was getting them out of the pan. I also put them on a plate with paper towels and popped them in the microwave for 90 seconds before putting them in the pan and it cut down on cooking time. I baked them ten minutes and sprinkled sugar, baked ten more minutes and then put it on broil for about 5 minutes to crisp bacon. Everybody goes CRAZY for them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
made with prosciutto de Parma instead of bacon to fancy them up a bit. Kids loved!!! Tonight using regular bacon . Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
Amazing. Just amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brice Bertotto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,610) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Brown Sugar Smokies

Nothing beats bacon-wrapped sausages on a stick!

Grilled Brown Sugar Pork Chops

Sweet and juicy, brown sugar pork chops.

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States