Brown Sugar Smokies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
Very good u r way, but being from Louisiana I needed a little more spice. Instead of the brown sugar, I crisped them then basted with pepper jelly. Cooked a little longer and they were perfect for my get together and got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
Had to fight the kids to have more than one myself! They asked if I could make them again………..as in right away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fenwick, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cantley, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
AMAZING
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
So utterly delicious. This is a real winner for parties. Never any left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
These are great, super easy and always go over well. I have no problem with my bacon crisping. I use a 9 x 13 pan, layer it with aluminum foil, put in my bacon wrapped smokies, cover with brown sugar and bake. The bacon grease cooks the bacon all the way through, and if you look for a leaner cut when buying, it wont be so greasy. I cook mine then when done, remove from the excess grease. They are great, never had any problems and never turned mine once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
I make this all the time. I Do it a little different though. I put the smokes in brown sugar 2 days before I need them to soak over night. Then the next day I wrap them in bacon and put them back in the brown sager for another night. When I am ready to cook I back them at 350 for 30min to start the bacon to firm up. The sprinkle with more sugar and throw them under broiler for about 5min to crisp it all up. By far its the hit of every party worth the extra work in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathryn Herrero

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
One of our dinner guests called these "crack horsdeoerves" because you cannot. stop. eating. them. I also dredge the assembled smokie and bacon in more brown sugar before baking. Low and slow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Took to a pool party last night and they were a hit...I did coat the bacon on brown sugar and then microwave to cook half way before I assembled with toothpicks and I think it helped them get crispy without over cooking the Smokies. Definitely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traycee:o)

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Orland Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
These were easy and delicious. I make a couple batches. The first one I made following the recipe and it tasted good. The second batch I made I added Cayenne pepper; it was sweet and spicy, I loved it!! I will make these again as an appetizer or snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
BEST potluck side ever!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,600) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Brown Sugar Smokies

Nothing beats bacon-wrapped sausages on a stick!

Grilled Brown Sugar Pork Chops

Sweet and juicy, brown sugar pork chops.

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States