Brown Sugar Smokies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
One of our dinner guests called these "crack horsdeoerves" because you cannot. stop. eating. them. I also dredge the assembled smokie and bacon in more brown sugar before baking. Low and slow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Took to a pool party last night and they were a hit...I did coat the bacon on brown sugar and then microwave to cook half way before I assembled with toothpicks and I think it helped them get crispy without over cooking the Smokies. Definitely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traycee:o)

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Homewood, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
These were easy and delicious. I make a couple batches. The first one I made following the recipe and it tasted good. The second batch I made I added Cayenne pepper; it was sweet and spicy, I loved it!! I will make these again as an appetizer or snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
BEST potluck side ever!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
These are delicious. One problem with the directions, though. Using a baking sheet is a terrible idea. The grease flowed off and started an oven fire. Not a big deal, but certainly not good. I would use a broiling pan or some other pan with edges to catch the grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
I LOVE this recipe also but I make it even better by adding a small amount of chili powder (seasoning) to the brown sugar...shake together and coat the smokies and bacon. It gives this recipe an extra layer of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky Trotter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
There were a big hit. Followed the recipe as it was. Prepared the night before, drained off the grease. The day of the party I just placed in a warming tray and they were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mothermayi4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
These were soooo good! I cooked them for close to 30 min and then browned them a little bit more under the broiler, this made the brown sugar crystallize for a crunchy delicious treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris Flynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by sotrendi
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Amazing! Just watch it to make sure it doesn't burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,504) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Brown Sugar Smokies

Nothing beats bacon-wrapped sausages on a stick!

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Brown Sugar Meatloaf

See how to make a 5-star meatloaf that’s tangy and slightly sweet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States