Brown Sugar Smokies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Awesome! A little putsy to put together, but the fact they were gone in no time made it worthwhile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dave Bobke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
I have cooked these several times, took em to church took bout 50 the first time, the second time took more when I took them to the table people were grabbing them off the plate. Had a gang here at my house smokies in the oven burgers on the grill,I burnt the smokies, they still ate em.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
I make these in a different way. I use hot dogs instead of little smokies. I cut the bacon in 3 pieces and the hot dogs in 3 pieces. Simply wrap the bacon around the hot dogs and secure with a toothpick. Then I layer them in a crock pot, a layer of brown sugar and a layer of the hot dogs. I add additional brown sugar on top and cook on high for about 3 hours. You will need to carefully stir them as they cook. I usually add more sugar as the cook down and use a turkey baster to suck up the liquid that accumulates in the bottom of the crock pot, if not the hot dogs will swell up from absorbing the liquid. I find this to be the easiest and less messy way to make these. Everyone loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
So delicious! These are now requested at all our large family gatherings and 1 batch is not anywhere near enough. We call these "crack weenies" because, well....try them and you'll see.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Disappointed in myself. Should of watched the video on how to make this recipe. I short changed my family by not putting enough sugar on top. Next time I'll make sure to add plenty of sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
This recipe resulted in a very salty, very strong flavor. The brown sugar wasn't enough to hide the strong personalities of the bacon, and the sausage. I substituted the smokies for Hillshire Farm original breakfast sausages, and I found that they were really strong. I made these for the big game, but I could only eat one of them. The men at the party couldn't love them more, but those of us with a more delicate palate might find the flavor too strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Assonet, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Fort Meade, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
these were awesome a were a big hit at a super bowl party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Loved these! Based on other reviews, I coated each piece of bacon & each smokie with brown sugar, then wrapped the smokie. Placed them on a cooling rack inside a foil lined cookie sheet. Baked them at 400 for about 45 minutes. Came out perfect! Easy clean-up, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Pot-luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
We call this meat candy. You can't ever have to many.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,515) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Brown Sugar Smokies

Nothing beats bacon-wrapped sausages on a stick!

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Brown Sugar Meatloaf

See how to make a 5-star meatloaf that’s tangy and slightly sweet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States