Brown Sugar Smokies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
I make this all the time. I Do it a little different though. I put the smokes in brown sugar 2 days before I need them to soak over night. Then the next day I wrap them in bacon and put them back in the brown sager for another night. When I am ready to cook I back them at 350 for 30min to start the bacon to firm up. The sprinkle with more sugar and throw them under broiler for about 5min to crisp it all up. By far its the hit of every party worth the extra work in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathryn Herrero

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
One of our dinner guests called these "crack horsdeoerves" because you cannot. stop. eating. them. I also dredge the assembled smokie and bacon in more brown sugar before baking. Low and slow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Took to a pool party last night and they were a hit...I did coat the bacon on brown sugar and then microwave to cook half way before I assembled with toothpicks and I think it helped them get crispy without over cooking the Smokies. Definitely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traycee:o)

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Homewood, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
These were easy and delicious. I make a couple batches. The first one I made following the recipe and it tasted good. The second batch I made I added Cayenne pepper; it was sweet and spicy, I loved it!! I will make these again as an appetizer or snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
BEST potluck side ever!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
These are delicious. One problem with the directions, though. Using a baking sheet is a terrible idea. The grease flowed off and started an oven fire. Not a big deal, but certainly not good. I would use a broiling pan or some other pan with edges to catch the grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
I LOVE this recipe also but I make it even better by adding a small amount of chili powder (seasoning) to the brown sugar...shake together and coat the smokies and bacon. It gives this recipe an extra layer of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky Trotter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
There were a big hit. Followed the recipe as it was. Prepared the night before, drained off the grease. The day of the party I just placed in a warming tray and they were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mothermayi4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
These were soooo good! I cooked them for close to 30 min and then browned them a little bit more under the broiler, this made the brown sugar crystallize for a crunchy delicious treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris Flynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by sotrendi
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,515) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Brown Sugar Smokies

Nothing beats bacon-wrapped sausages on a stick!

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Brown Sugar Meatloaf

See how to make a 5-star meatloaf that’s tangy and slightly sweet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States