Brown Sugar Smokies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
Skewers aren't needed. Use toothpicks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
made it last Christmas and definately will make this year again, just tripple the amount this time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BurkleFamily
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
I did individual ones with toothpicks. Kept them in for about 35-40 minutes (because I forgot to reset a timer after checking them at 20 minutes) & they were perfect. I should've removed all of them immediately because some were almost glued to the pan after letting them sit for 30 minutes. The ones I served immediately were amazing! I will be using this one frequently during the holiday season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BurkleFamily

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I made these appetizers a few years back and now I'm asked to bring them every family gathering. A pain to make, but I make them a day in advanced and let them soak in the brown sugar overnight. awesome treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
I made these, and they are yummy! I find that 22 min's is the perfect time to get all of the brown sugar melted. And, if you soak the skewers in water for about 5 min's before putting the smokies on it keeps them from sticking after baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
These are simple and delicious. Brought these to a 420-style gathering and all of a sudden I could hear a man's voice loudly repeating "WHO brought these?" I put my hand up and he said "These are like heaven on a toothpick." He then proceeded to monitor how many everyone was eating and insisted that some be put aside for newcomers. He would walk up to them with the weenie raised high, sort of singing like there were angels around, and he would present it to them on one knee :) Also brought them to my daughter's high school. The boys fought over them and one ran away with the dish, gobbling as many as he could before they were taken away. Not such a big hit with my book club though. Someone's always on a freakin diet. So just remember that if it's a mixed gathering, you might make someone's wife jealous, THEY'RE THAT GOOD! I found I used WAAAAY more brown sugar than called for, even though I followed the recipe. Just use more and enjoy the sweet syrupy deliciousness that is what we have dubbed "Maple Weenie Tots".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I have been making these for years!! They are a hit every time!! To avoid the mess and clean up I go to the local dollar store and I buy 2 disposable deep dish baking pans and buy 2 disposable cookie sheets (I put holes in this one with a knife for grease to drain into deeper dish) its so easy to throw it all away when your done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
Just made it for the first time and everyone loved it. Only problem i found was the smokies are so darn expensive. lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
Very good u r way, but being from Louisiana I needed a little more spice. Instead of the brown sugar, I crisped them then basted with pepper jelly. Cooked a little longer and they were perfect for my get together and got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
Had to fight the kids to have more than one myself! They asked if I could make them again………..as in right away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fenwick, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cantley, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,528) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Brown Sugar Smokies

Nothing beats bacon-wrapped sausages on a stick!

Grilled Brown Sugar Pork Chops

Sweet and juicy, brown sugar pork chops.

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States