Brown Sugar Smokies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
I made these as directed and after the bacon was cooked I put them into a slow cooker to get them to the party. They stayed hot and tasted good even after a couple of hours warming in the slow cooker. You could make these without the skewer and put a toothpick through them. It makes it easy to pick up individual appy's. The only thing I may do differently is marinate the bacon and the smokies in LOTS of brown sugar. I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Swift Current, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
WOW! The whole plate was gone in minutes. Definitely the hit of the party and so SIMPLE to make! I'll be taking these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vikki Cabral

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
I made this for Thanksgiving and my daughter and husband loved them! They where a big hit and I will make these for Christmas for sure!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Took these to a party and they were the first thing on the buffet to go. Big crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bradford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
We do not like limp bacon, so we won't be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
These were the Thanksgiving day hit! I put them on a roasting pan for an hour at 350. The crystallized brown sugar was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
These are fantastic! At my house we call it "Man Candy." I actually dredge both sides of the bacon in the brown sugar before wrapping it around the smokies and then sprinkle the remaining brown sugar over the top before baking. I also cook them on the broiler pan so any grease drips away. They come out crispy and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
I made this recipe for the first time on New Year's Eve a year ago. I can't tell you how many times I've been asked to make it again. They are RIDICULOUSLY DELICIOUS! You really can't mess them up either - even if you burn them they are still yummy. After I secure these things with toothpicks I throw them in a large ziplock and toss in the brown sugar, then let it marinate overnight. I baste them with the leftover sugar syrup in the bag right before I bake them. Following someone elses directions, I bake these for 45 minutes on a lower temp and then up the heat for the last 15 minutes. I think it totally depends on the temperament of your oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 1,515) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Brown Sugar Smokies

Nothing beats bacon-wrapped sausages on a stick!

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Brown Sugar Meatloaf

See how to make a 5-star meatloaf that’s tangy and slightly sweet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States