Brown Sugar Shortbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
being lazy and impatient i tried a dozen in the toaster oven immediately: small spoonfuls droped, 15 minutes. Addictive with or without nuts. used half butter/marg. and like they said a little less flour. love that they can be baked to chewy or crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
These are delish! They are hard and flat since they do not have egg or leavening. Expect that! Try not to over mix after adding the flour. You will produce too much gluten and they will lose flavor and texture. Hand mixing is best once the flour is added. Also, make sure you don't roll them too thin or they will get harder! Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I tried the recipe as others have suggested reducing the flour. I would advise against this as the cookies I made came out flat and chewy. Will use the original recipe next time. Other than that they taste wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
These turned out really good. I only used 2 cups of flour and added a teaspoon of baking powder, a pinch of salt and almond extract. I pressed the dough into a jelly roll pan and pressed whole almonds into the dough before baking. I covered it with a chocolate ganache after I took the pan out of the oven. These turned out really good. I am always looking for an eggless cookie recipe, they usually come out too crumbly but these were crunchy and melty. Truly a great recipe to make with the kids. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
I tried making this recipe and it turned out to be a disaster. It was all fine until I got to the part in which you had to roll out the dough. The directions state that you only need to lightly flour the board but no matter how much or how little flour I put on the board (and rolling pin) the dough kept sticking everywhere. Then, after I got it rolled out and on the cookie sheet, I put it in the oven and set the timer for 30 minutes. In less than 10 minutes my dad looked at them and asked if they were supposed to look the way they did. The cookies had expanded into each other and were as thin as a piece of paper. I was going to make these for my cousin's graduation party because she loves shortbread cookies, but because of how these turned out, I had to buy cookies on the way to her party. I don't understand why this all happened since I followed the recipe word for word. Sorry for the long review, but I just wanted to let you know what happened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
I have made this batch twice. The first batch I followed per the suggestion to use 2 cups of flour, but I found that it made them too chewy to be called a shortbread cookie. So when I made the second batch I use 2 1/4 cups + 1 tablespoon of flour and I also added some coconut to the batter and they came out perfect. I will be using this recipe for a long time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Viola melton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
This is only the second shortbread recipe I've tried... I too used only 2 cups of flour. I baked one batch for 20 minutes but the center wasn't fully cooked so the next batch I did for 25 I was looking for more the consistency of Kraft brand Loorna Doone shortbread... this recipe came much closer than the last. Overall great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
I found that using 2 cups of flour is better the dough isan't as dry and easier to work with
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I made this dough as a backup for Scottish Tablet that my 4th grade son had to do for a school project. I refregirated it over night & quickly made them before he left for school because plan 1 did not work! His classmates all complimented these cookies & our neighbor loved the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alvin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I had to improvise on the flour, because the first batch I made was way too crumbly. I can't quite say how much I added to mine since I didn't bother keeping track, but it was way less than the full amount. Maybe even just a cup and a half. I also added cinnamon to taste, because I thought it would made a good addition. They turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States