Brown Sugar Shortbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I went ahead, despite the bad reviews, and attempted to make these cookies with the suggested 2 cups of flour. The taste is really, actually very good when baked to a nice almost-dark brown. However, the term "crunch," is putting it far too lightly. These cookies still turned out like rocks. I decided to dunk them in some coffee and they were absolutely awesome as a dipping cookie, but alone and dry...ouch, what a headache.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by feliciamjohnston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chloe, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Good cookies, I find making them thick and cutting baking time keeps them from being too cruchy. I put a pecan in the middle and drizzled ganache over them, very pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara P

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Liverpool, New York, USA
Living In: Wiscasset, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
These are really quite good, easy to make and work with, and a well-received gift.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
This recipy tastes better uncooked, and best of all, its egg free so you can!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iceprincess

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I made this recipe using 2 cups of flour and imported Irish butter. The dough was crumbly. I placed the dough in plastic wrap and formed a log and placed it in the refrigerator over night. When I took the dough out of the fridge, it was as hard as a brick! But I let it sit out for five minutes and it was soft enough to slice. Baked for 18 minutes and let cool. They were so good. And very easy to make. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I followed the every step of this recipe. The dough was really crumbly and the cookies really didn't taste like much to me or my boyfriend and that is very rare. I wont be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodcurious
Living In: Hialeah, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I made these a week ago. It is as though there are ingrdients missing. They tasted great but were terribly stiff and hard. I thought by being called shortbread they would melt in my mouth. I am very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
These cookies didn't turn out like the melt in you r mouth shortbread I was dreaming of. They are just brown sugar cookies, witha little oatmeal and chocolate chips they would be chololate chip cookies. Very disappionted, wouldn't make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
This cookies were the most talked about with my friends and family! I followed the directions exactly but found that the dough was too dry so i added a little milk to moisten it up and it seemed to work. I also kept them in the oven a little longer because they weren't quite done. Other than that, they came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chantille

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JeanBean
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
For some pizazz I added a little bit of chocolate frosting on one end and dipped it into some sprinkles since I was taking them to a kid-friendly event. They were simple and came out crispy and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeanBean

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States