Brown Sugar Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
This sauce was amazing!! Poured it over hot bread pudding and didnt add the brandy, yummm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2000
WOW! This sauce was so easy to make and so delicious. I made it without the brandy and it tasted like a wonderful butterscotch sauce. I served it over warm bread pudding, yum yum! I highly recomend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
Used the cream as suggested. I really couldn't serve this because I kept sneaking a taste and there almost was not enough left. :-) It's really wonderful and I think it would be okay without the brandy if you don't have that on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I made this for the Apple Coffee Cake on this site and it was very good (makes the coffee cake taste more like dessert.) However, I should have listened to other reviewers who said it had too much brandy--I didn't heed their advice, as I of am a follower of the line regarding cooking "When in doubt add more wine/alcohol"---but 1/4 cup brandy overpowered the flavor of the sauce. If I make it again I will use no more than 2-3 tablespoons of brandy. In addition, although the sauce thickened nicely, it could be a little creamier, so I will use half heavy whipping cream and half milk next time. Finally, I think the wording of the recipe needs to be fixed as it says to stir the sauce frequently. This is the wrong wording for this type of sauce. Any sugar-based sauce that is not stirred constantly or left unattended will burn within a minute or two, so as the granddaughter or a former candy maker I advise that you continuously stir and scrape down the sides of the pan to prevent burning or else you will ruin your sauce and create a problem when you try to clean your pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veggie Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
This is delicious. I made this to put on homemade cinnamon rolls. When I went to make the that goes with the rolls, I realized that I was out of powdered sugar. I searched for an icing recipe made without pwd sugar and found this. It was delightful and wonderfully rich. I left out the brandy because I was serving it to my kids, though. I think it would be wonderful with pecans. Definitely a recipe I will keep on hand as a nice icing alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
I didn't have brandy, so I didn't use it. Next time I'll skip the vanilla too. I tasted it before the vanilla and thought it was wonderful, but when I put in the vanilla it didn't taste as good. I also used pecans instead of walnuts, because I like them better. Overall, easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
A quick and simple sauce, with great results. I've made this twice over the holidays, always producing a smooth, great tasting sauce. My only suggestion would be to reduce the amount of brandy a bit, as it is just a tad overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollycurls77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2001
I found this a little too sweet- my family liked it though, and it went well with the cinnamon apple coffee cake! I used semi skimmed milk, and Baileys Cream Whisky (instead of Brandy), yummy, but you have to be carefull at ALL stages to avoid clumping, not just when whisking in the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
Just made this sauce to take to a holiday dinner, and since I've been sampling it copiously, I thought I'd go ahead and review. It's a pretty tasty sauce! Mine came out quite thick, but it's got a nice texture. I think I may omit the brandy next time, I didn't care too much for the undertaste of it. And, call me a glutton, but I think I'll add a 1/2 cup of creme with the cup of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patrick Luce
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
This is one of my fav recipes from this site. Original review: Wow! This was really good! I made this for a pound cake. I tasted a little as I was icing the cake---amazing! I did change the recipe based on others' reviews that said it was too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patrick Luce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Pan Sauce Bordelaise

See how to make an incredibly scrumptious red wine steak sauce.

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Black Cumberland Sauce

See how to make a dark and delicious fruit sauce for roasted meats and poultry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States