Brown Sugar Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I was skeptical but tried it any way. Left out the brandy. D-E-L-I-S-H!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
This recipe is great. I used half milk and half cream for the amount of milk called for. I left out the brandy and added some cinnamon. It turned out great. I used it as icing for a fruit cocktail cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
This sauce was amazing!! Poured it over hot bread pudding and didnt add the brandy, yummm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
This is delicious. I made this to put on homemade cinnamon rolls. When I went to make the that goes with the rolls, I realized that I was out of powdered sugar. I searched for an icing recipe made without pwd sugar and found this. It was delightful and wonderfully rich. I left out the brandy because I was serving it to my kids, though. I think it would be wonderful with pecans. Definitely a recipe I will keep on hand as a nice icing alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
Loved the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sparkysarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worland, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Sheridan, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tanaquil
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
This is one of my fav recipes from this site. Original review: Wow! This was really good! I made this for a pound cake. I tasted a little as I was icing the cake---amazing! I did change the recipe based on others' reviews that said it was too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2007
Oh my....this was good.I used it as a topping for pear cake..also on this site. Comfort food at its best!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
I've never had a brown butter sauce before. I really liked it! So simple to make and it would work well with any kind of vanilla, butter, banana, carrot or apple cake. I like the way you don't need to use icing sugar as I don't always have it in my pantry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
This sauce was absolutely amazing on top of the sour milk spice cake from this site. I replaced the brandy with an equal amount of water and used sour milk (I think that's the right term for it; it was the liquid left over from making ricotta cheese)in place of the regular milk. It turned out a perfect, slightly thick glaze consistency, therefore it must be pretty simple to make because I rarely make things using sugar on the stove without ruining them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
This sauce is even better if you use molasses and granulated sugar rather than brown sugar. 1 cup of mild molasses + 1 cup of granulated sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Pan Sauce Bordelaise

See how to make an incredibly scrumptious red wine steak sauce.

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Black Cumberland Sauce

See how to make a dark and delicious fruit sauce for roasted meats and poultry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States