Brown Sugar Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
I've looked off and on for a recipe for a brown sugar sauce like my favorite restaurant serves sweet potato fries with--the only condiment suitable for them. This recipe makes a wonderful, simple, rich sauce. I used dark brown sugar making it even richer. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
delicious!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lin-DUH
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
Wow, thank you so much for this recipe! I had no idea that caramel sauce was so easy. The flavor was wonderful, and it was a breeze to make. I might play with it to make it a little thicker, but it's great as-is. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lin-DUH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
Turned out jelly like, would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by i <3 my marine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
i had a horrible time making this sauce. i did not even get to try it. once i added in the water the junk boiled up and crackled then burnt. i have no idea what happened. the brown sugar ended up hardening inside the sauce pan and i had to boil water in it to clean it out. hope no one else had this problem, it was one heck of a mess! and a bad smell too. i will try it again some time, but i gave this a three because i did follow the directions as written and this was not a good outcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
I made this for the first time today to pour over my blueberry cake for an added treat. At first I didn't think that it was turning out right as it was very very thick(like a glue paste) so I just added a little more water and a touch more vanilla and it turned out excellent! I will add the warning that I read in other reviews about the water spitting and splashing when you add it and to be careful doing so but I didn't at all have the burnt smell that others reported. I added this recipe to my recipe box and Will use it again. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Made this for the first time today to go with DIGGETYDOG's fantastic, raisinless "Bread Pudding II" recipe on this site...it was the perfect accompaniment! I followed the cooking directions exactly with no problems & terrific results. But I changed some of the ingredients, partly based on some of the other reviewers' suggestions and partly improvising. I made this with demerara sugar, which worked great. I used 3/4 cup water & 1/4 cup cream, added 2 Tblsp. maple syrup, and when the heat was off just before serving I stirred in about 1/2 Tblsp. butter to make the sauce silkier & butterier. It was absolutely awesome! It was the perfect consistency - glossy & silky and it coated the spoon. The sauce is just as good cold over ice cream as it was hot over bread pudding. The flavor is kind of like a cross between caramel & butterscotch - very tasty! It completely blows bottled sauces off the map, and it's so easy and quick to make, I'll never again buy ice cream sauce! I could eat this sauce like soup. It was very, very good! Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
This sauce was excellent! I had it on crepes, but it would be great on pancakes or cake or cheesecake too! Was easy to make too! To reheat the leftovers, I simply added a little water and put in the microwave! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janelle D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Kisbey, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
Pretty good. I heeded the warnings about the sugar burning, so I cooked on MEDIUM-LOW (closer to low), and this never bubbled for me... EVER. With that, I had some consistency problems, but has a great sweet caramelly flavor. If I use this recipe again, I'd make sure to add in some heavy cream and boil for a few minutes, just to give it that extra "OOMPH!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
Made this to accompany my bread pudding... very nice. Will use this sauce again and again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCosmeticQueen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

How to Make Brown Butter Sauce

Learn this easy way to make brown butter sauce and a simple sole meuniere.

Tarragon Walnut Brown Butter Sauce

This simple brown butter sauce is perfect spooned over white fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States