Brown Sugar Pound Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2001
Delicious! Off the hook! Moist, flavorful, addicitive...everything I love about cake ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
I make many pound cakes and am always testing recipes for new ones. This one is a hit! Great texture and flavor. Add icing if you need a little pizzaz, but wonderful by it's self. Great for breakfast too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BabaEva

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2001
I think I found a new pound cake recipe. This is a delicious, moist and flavorful cake. I got it out of the oven around 7 o'clock that evening, and by the end of the day there was barely a piece left for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
after reading all the reviews, I did decide to modify this recipe just a bit to add more flavor. I added: 1/2 tsp salt to dry ingredients; to the egg& sugar mixture I also added: 1 tsp of "vanilla butter&nut extract" (it's by mccormick and in most stores), 1 tsp of lemon zest (helps balance out all the sweetness) and substituted half&half instead of milk. I ground the pecans in the food processor untill they were fine but not dust or paste, about 20 sec maybe; folded them in at the end. For a glaze I did: 6 tbl butter, 3 tbl corn syrup, 1/2 tsp lemon zest, 1/4 c brown sugar. Cooked over med heat for until well combined and butter is completely melted. Off heat add: 1 tsp vanilla, 1 tsp of the vanilla butter extract and 1 cup of finely chopped pecans. It should resemble the topping for a sticky bun, thick and gooey. Spoon over the top of the cake when still warm. It is very sweet and decadent dessert that is fabulous for company. I sprinkled a bit of powdered sugar around the plate when I served it. It was beautiful and scrumptous and everyone loved it! Thank you for such a wonderful recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Stone Mountain, Georgia, USA
Living In: Owings Mills, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2002
I made this cake twice yesterday. I used a 12 cup, 10" inch bundt pan. I beat the sugars/butter for about 8 minutes & another 3-4 minutes after adding eggs. Also, I added 1/2 tsp salt to the dry ingredients. The cake was HUGE, moist & smelled wonderful when baking. I made the 1st cake with pecans & it was delicious. I made the 2nd cake without pecans and topped the slightly warm cake with a caramel frosting which dripped down the sides. YUMMY! (Caramel frosting: melt 1/2 stick real butter over low heat; add 1/2 cup packed dark brown sugar and 1/4 cup milk; heat until almost boiling. Remove from heat and cool 10 min. Add 1/2 tsp vanilla. Beat in 2 cups sifted confectioners sugar until smooth. Cool 5 minutes and spoon on warm cake). Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
156 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2003
Wonderfully tender and moist with a great flavor. Unfortunately, mine fell when baked in a tube pan but was still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
Great!!! Very moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2002
THIS RECIPE IS MY FAVORITE AND NOW MY SPECIALTY AT THE JOB!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
great flavor! I ran out of milk so used a 5 oz can of evaporated milk and 3 oz water. Made it even richer and more flavorful...I would recommend this recipe to anyone who wanted a different kind of poundcake from the usual
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2003
This was very good and moist. It was just a little sweet but I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States