Brown Sugar Pound Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2002
I made this cake twice yesterday. I used a 12 cup, 10" inch bundt pan. I beat the sugars/butter for about 8 minutes & another 3-4 minutes after adding eggs. Also, I added 1/2 tsp salt to the dry ingredients. The cake was HUGE, moist & smelled wonderful when baking. I made the 1st cake with pecans & it was delicious. I made the 2nd cake without pecans and topped the slightly warm cake with a caramel frosting which dripped down the sides. YUMMY! (Caramel frosting: melt 1/2 stick real butter over low heat; add 1/2 cup packed dark brown sugar and 1/4 cup milk; heat until almost boiling. Remove from heat and cool 10 min. Add 1/2 tsp vanilla. Beat in 2 cups sifted confectioners sugar until smooth. Cool 5 minutes and spoon on warm cake). Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
156 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
Made it tonight. Followed exactly - came out great! I read earlier comments.. You shouldn't lessen the sugar, it'll make the cake less dense. Also, it's very important to add sugar very slowly. Take 5-7 minutes to add. Add eggs one at a time and beat until just blended. Don't over beat eggs! Your cake will overflow if you do. I baked mine in a metal bundt pan for 70 minutes and it was perfect. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
after reading all the reviews, I did decide to modify this recipe just a bit to add more flavor. I added: 1/2 tsp salt to dry ingredients; to the egg& sugar mixture I also added: 1 tsp of "vanilla butter&nut extract" (it's by mccormick and in most stores), 1 tsp of lemon zest (helps balance out all the sweetness) and substituted half&half instead of milk. I ground the pecans in the food processor untill they were fine but not dust or paste, about 20 sec maybe; folded them in at the end. For a glaze I did: 6 tbl butter, 3 tbl corn syrup, 1/2 tsp lemon zest, 1/4 c brown sugar. Cooked over med heat for until well combined and butter is completely melted. Off heat add: 1 tsp vanilla, 1 tsp of the vanilla butter extract and 1 cup of finely chopped pecans. It should resemble the topping for a sticky bun, thick and gooey. Spoon over the top of the cake when still warm. It is very sweet and decadent dessert that is fabulous for company. I sprinkled a bit of powdered sugar around the plate when I served it. It was beautiful and scrumptous and everyone loved it! Thank you for such a wonderful recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Stone Mountain, Georgia, USA
Living In: Owings Mills, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
I make many pound cakes and am always testing recipes for new ones. This one is a hit! Great texture and flavor. Add icing if you need a little pizzaz, but wonderful by it's self. Great for breakfast too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BabaEva

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2001
I think I found a new pound cake recipe. This is a delicious, moist and flavorful cake. I got it out of the oven around 7 o'clock that evening, and by the end of the day there was barely a piece left for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2001
Delicious! Off the hook! Moist, flavorful, addicitive...everything I love about cake ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Wow! Not for anyone watching their calories and weight but...wow! Shared a piece with a friend this morning: her review..."it was the BEST thing I have EVER put into my mouth!" I think that pretty much sums it up. Made it exactly as stated but used the frosting from Caramel Poundcake recipe. Delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2003
Personally, I thought this was bland and too crumbly (2-stars at best) BUT my family gives this a 4-star rating. They thought it was really good. Thank goodness I headed others advice: I added a handful of Hershey's cinnamon chips to the bottom of the cake pan before I poured the batter in and another small handful into the batter itself. Without this addition - I doubt I would have a received the high approval rating from my family that it did. Tastes similar to a sugar cookie but too plain for me (very unusual!). I'll let my family eat this cake up but I'm sorry - I just don't think I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
This cake was fine, but it didn't turn out like a pound cake at all, just a regular cake in a bundt pan. It didn't have the pound cake crust, or really firm texture. It was firm enough, just not like a pound cake. However, it did come out of my rose bundt pan looking beautiful. And everyone loved it. We had it with ice cream. Good brown sugar flavor. I did cut back on the white sugar by about 1/4 cup, and it was still plenty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2002
This recipe made a really moist and interesting cake. I love the pecans! They add something extra and keep it from being too plain, but it still remains simple. I don't make pound cake often, but when I do again, I will use this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States