Brown Sugar Pound Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2001
Delicious! Off the hook! Moist, flavorful, addicitive...everything I love about cake ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2001
I think I found a new pound cake recipe. This is a delicious, moist and flavorful cake. I got it out of the oven around 7 o'clock that evening, and by the end of the day there was barely a piece left for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2001
Recipe is easy to prepare. Tastes best the next day after it has had a chance to cool and settle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2002
This recipe made a really moist and interesting cake. I love the pecans! They add something extra and keep it from being too plain, but it still remains simple. I don't make pound cake often, but when I do again, I will use this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2002
Perhaps it's better right out of the oven, but I found this cake to be rather bland. Personally, I think it would benefit from cinnamon chips or a cinnamon crumb topping. It didn't seem to be anything special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2002
THIS RECIPE IS MY FAVORITE AND NOW MY SPECIALTY AT THE JOB!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2002
I made this cake twice yesterday. I used a 12 cup, 10" inch bundt pan. I beat the sugars/butter for about 8 minutes & another 3-4 minutes after adding eggs. Also, I added 1/2 tsp salt to the dry ingredients. The cake was HUGE, moist & smelled wonderful when baking. I made the 1st cake with pecans & it was delicious. I made the 2nd cake without pecans and topped the slightly warm cake with a caramel frosting which dripped down the sides. YUMMY! (Caramel frosting: melt 1/2 stick real butter over low heat; add 1/2 cup packed dark brown sugar and 1/4 cup milk; heat until almost boiling. Remove from heat and cool 10 min. Add 1/2 tsp vanilla. Beat in 2 cups sifted confectioners sugar until smooth. Cool 5 minutes and spoon on warm cake). Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
160 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
I make many pound cakes and am always testing recipes for new ones. This one is a hit! Great texture and flavor. Add icing if you need a little pizzaz, but wonderful by it's self. Great for breakfast too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BabaEva

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
great flavor! I ran out of milk so used a 5 oz can of evaporated milk and 3 oz water. Made it even richer and more flavorful...I would recommend this recipe to anyone who wanted a different kind of poundcake from the usual
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
this recipe was great... and easy, although i had to make a few substitutions (because i did not have the cocoa at the time i wanted to make it)it still came out as moist as was said..loved it, friends loved it and family loved it, i will do it again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LANDIGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sharon Hill, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States