Brown Sugar Pound Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2004
I kept in mind what everyone was saying about the dryness and slight lack of flavor and added 2 tbsp of oil and 1/2 tsp. of cinnamon. It turned out to be pretty good. It's really good with strawberries and whipped cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2003
This was very good and moist. It was just a little sweet but I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2003
Excellent cake! I think it needed a little something extra although it was great alone also. I made it for a family reunion and everyone asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2003
Personally, I thought this was bland and too crumbly (2-stars at best) BUT my family gives this a 4-star rating. They thought it was really good. Thank goodness I headed others advice: I added a handful of Hershey's cinnamon chips to the bottom of the cake pan before I poured the batter in and another small handful into the batter itself. Without this addition - I doubt I would have a received the high approval rating from my family that it did. Tastes similar to a sugar cookie but too plain for me (very unusual!). I'll let my family eat this cake up but I'm sorry - I just don't think I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2003
Wonderfully tender and moist with a great flavor. Unfortunately, mine fell when baked in a tube pan but was still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
this recipe was great... and easy, although i had to make a few substitutions (because i did not have the cocoa at the time i wanted to make it)it still came out as moist as was said..loved it, friends loved it and family loved it, i will do it again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LANDIGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sharon Hill, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
great flavor! I ran out of milk so used a 5 oz can of evaporated milk and 3 oz water. Made it even richer and more flavorful...I would recommend this recipe to anyone who wanted a different kind of poundcake from the usual
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
I make many pound cakes and am always testing recipes for new ones. This one is a hit! Great texture and flavor. Add icing if you need a little pizzaz, but wonderful by it's self. Great for breakfast too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BabaEva

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2002
I made this cake twice yesterday. I used a 12 cup, 10" inch bundt pan. I beat the sugars/butter for about 8 minutes & another 3-4 minutes after adding eggs. Also, I added 1/2 tsp salt to the dry ingredients. The cake was HUGE, moist & smelled wonderful when baking. I made the 1st cake with pecans & it was delicious. I made the 2nd cake without pecans and topped the slightly warm cake with a caramel frosting which dripped down the sides. YUMMY! (Caramel frosting: melt 1/2 stick real butter over low heat; add 1/2 cup packed dark brown sugar and 1/4 cup milk; heat until almost boiling. Remove from heat and cool 10 min. Add 1/2 tsp vanilla. Beat in 2 cups sifted confectioners sugar until smooth. Cool 5 minutes and spoon on warm cake). Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
165 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2002
THIS RECIPE IS MY FAVORITE AND NOW MY SPECIALTY AT THE JOB!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States