Brown Sugar Pound Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2002
I made this cake twice yesterday. I used a 12 cup, 10" inch bundt pan. I beat the sugars/butter for about 8 minutes & another 3-4 minutes after adding eggs. Also, I added 1/2 tsp salt to the dry ingredients. The cake was HUGE, moist & smelled wonderful when baking. I made the 1st cake with pecans & it was delicious. I made the 2nd cake without pecans and topped the slightly warm cake with a caramel frosting which dripped down the sides. YUMMY! (Caramel frosting: melt 1/2 stick real butter over low heat; add 1/2 cup packed dark brown sugar and 1/4 cup milk; heat until almost boiling. Remove from heat and cool 10 min. Add 1/2 tsp vanilla. Beat in 2 cups sifted confectioners sugar until smooth. Cool 5 minutes and spoon on warm cake). Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
Made it tonight. Followed exactly - came out great! I read earlier comments.. You shouldn't lessen the sugar, it'll make the cake less dense. Also, it's very important to add sugar very slowly. Take 5-7 minutes to add. Add eggs one at a time and beat until just blended. Don't over beat eggs! Your cake will overflow if you do. I baked mine in a metal bundt pan for 70 minutes and it was perfect. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
after reading all the reviews, I did decide to modify this recipe just a bit to add more flavor. I added: 1/2 tsp salt to dry ingredients; to the egg& sugar mixture I also added: 1 tsp of "vanilla butter&nut extract" (it's by mccormick and in most stores), 1 tsp of lemon zest (helps balance out all the sweetness) and substituted half&half instead of milk. I ground the pecans in the food processor untill they were fine but not dust or paste, about 20 sec maybe; folded them in at the end. For a glaze I did: 6 tbl butter, 3 tbl corn syrup, 1/2 tsp lemon zest, 1/4 c brown sugar. Cooked over med heat for until well combined and butter is completely melted. Off heat add: 1 tsp vanilla, 1 tsp of the vanilla butter extract and 1 cup of finely chopped pecans. It should resemble the topping for a sticky bun, thick and gooey. Spoon over the top of the cake when still warm. It is very sweet and decadent dessert that is fabulous for company. I sprinkled a bit of powdered sugar around the plate when I served it. It was beautiful and scrumptous and everyone loved it! Thank you for such a wonderful recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Stone Mountain, Georgia, USA
Living In: Owings Mills, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
I make many pound cakes and am always testing recipes for new ones. This one is a hit! Great texture and flavor. Add icing if you need a little pizzaz, but wonderful by it's self. Great for breakfast too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BabaEva

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2001
I think I found a new pound cake recipe. This is a delicious, moist and flavorful cake. I got it out of the oven around 7 o'clock that evening, and by the end of the day there was barely a piece left for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2001
Delicious! Off the hook! Moist, flavorful, addicitive...everything I love about cake ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2003
Personally, I thought this was bland and too crumbly (2-stars at best) BUT my family gives this a 4-star rating. They thought it was really good. Thank goodness I headed others advice: I added a handful of Hershey's cinnamon chips to the bottom of the cake pan before I poured the batter in and another small handful into the batter itself. Without this addition - I doubt I would have a received the high approval rating from my family that it did. Tastes similar to a sugar cookie but too plain for me (very unusual!). I'll let my family eat this cake up but I'm sorry - I just don't think I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Wow! Not for anyone watching their calories and weight but...wow! Shared a piece with a friend this morning: her review..."it was the BEST thing I have EVER put into my mouth!" I think that pretty much sums it up. Made it exactly as stated but used the frosting from Caramel Poundcake recipe. Delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
This cake was fine, but it didn't turn out like a pound cake at all, just a regular cake in a bundt pan. It didn't have the pound cake crust, or really firm texture. It was firm enough, just not like a pound cake. However, it did come out of my rose bundt pan looking beautiful. And everyone loved it. We had it with ice cream. Good brown sugar flavor. I did cut back on the white sugar by about 1/4 cup, and it was still plenty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2002
This recipe made a really moist and interesting cake. I love the pecans! They add something extra and keep it from being too plain, but it still remains simple. I don't make pound cake often, but when I do again, I will use this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States