Brown Sugar Pound Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
Very good, the only change I made was I didn't but pecans in the cake but did put them in the carmal frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Emmet, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
to answer snaps2721 question - this was made in a NordicWare Rose Bundt pan that you can see on their sight. recipe sounded so good i think i will try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by capemaybe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape May, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
excellent, i added 1/2 tsp salt 1 tsp brandy extract, and the frosting from TLBRAN, soooo good. Also I had to cook a lot longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
Was OK... Wouldn't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misty Atkinson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
This cake was outstanding!! Very moist and just the right amount of sweetness. The chopped pecans was a nice addition. I did not change a thing when I made it. My husband, sister, and 2-yr-old daugther loved it. Needless to say I did as well. I topped it with caramel frosting, a recipe I got from this site. It was fantastic. I will definitely make this one again....especially this Christmas!! Thanks for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
This cake was fine, but it didn't turn out like a pound cake at all, just a regular cake in a bundt pan. It didn't have the pound cake crust, or really firm texture. It was firm enough, just not like a pound cake. However, it did come out of my rose bundt pan looking beautiful. And everyone loved it. We had it with ice cream. Good brown sugar flavor. I did cut back on the white sugar by about 1/4 cup, and it was still plenty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
This cake was so moist and good, my picky kids and husband loves it. I added brown sugar frosting to it and ummmm even better. After my in-laws got some, gone in one day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
wonderful.. i added some walnusts and dates and it was perfect..however i cut a little on the white sugar i ran out still turned out fine..will make it again for sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
after reading all the reviews, I did decide to modify this recipe just a bit to add more flavor. I added: 1/2 tsp salt to dry ingredients; to the egg& sugar mixture I also added: 1 tsp of "vanilla butter&nut extract" (it's by mccormick and in most stores), 1 tsp of lemon zest (helps balance out all the sweetness) and substituted half&half instead of milk. I ground the pecans in the food processor untill they were fine but not dust or paste, about 20 sec maybe; folded them in at the end. For a glaze I did: 6 tbl butter, 3 tbl corn syrup, 1/2 tsp lemon zest, 1/4 c brown sugar. Cooked over med heat for until well combined and butter is completely melted. Off heat add: 1 tsp vanilla, 1 tsp of the vanilla butter extract and 1 cup of finely chopped pecans. It should resemble the topping for a sticky bun, thick and gooey. Spoon over the top of the cake when still warm. It is very sweet and decadent dessert that is fabulous for company. I sprinkled a bit of powdered sugar around the plate when I served it. It was beautiful and scrumptous and everyone loved it! Thank you for such a wonderful recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Stone Mountain, Georgia, USA
Living In: Owings Mills, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
Great!!! Very moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States