Brown Sugar Pound Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
Ijust had a piece or[two] as did my husband and he said i outdid myself!It came out light and fluffy also i made the glaze that TLBRAN wrote in her review, just delicious !I can't wait to make it for Christmas as gifts, i am sure it will be a big hit. thanks again for all the great receipes,NanaLynn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
Fabulous! I did change the recipe up a bit. I am in grad school for gastronomy and our class was doing coffee history one week. We all take turns bringing food to class, so I made this fabulous recipe, replacing half the milk with espresso, and the pecans with white chocolate chips. It was just decadent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sashanna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
Made it tonight. Followed exactly - came out great! I read earlier comments.. You shouldn't lessen the sugar, it'll make the cake less dense. Also, it's very important to add sugar very slowly. Take 5-7 minutes to add. Add eggs one at a time and beat until just blended. Don't over beat eggs! Your cake will overflow if you do. I baked mine in a metal bundt pan for 70 minutes and it was perfect. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
This cake was very easy to make and everyone (including kids) loved it. I served it with just warmed up jar carmel sauce drizzled over each individual piece. Left overs held up very well. A nice change of pace from typical chocolate/yellow/carrot cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
i emitted the pecans and added finely chopped walnuts instead.. this cake was to die for. just the right amount of sweetness and it was super moist and had a wonderful texture. i made enough for a bundt cake and there was still some batter left over, which i poured into these bite size cupcake molds. amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
Very good, the only change I made was I didn't but pecans in the cake but did put them in the carmal frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Emmet, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
to answer snaps2721 question - this was made in a NordicWare Rose Bundt pan that you can see on their sight. recipe sounded so good i think i will try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by capemaybe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape May, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
excellent, i added 1/2 tsp salt 1 tsp brandy extract, and the frosting from TLBRAN, soooo good. Also I had to cook a lot longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
Was OK... Wouldn't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misty Atkinson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
This cake was outstanding!! Very moist and just the right amount of sweetness. The chopped pecans was a nice addition. I did not change a thing when I made it. My husband, sister, and 2-yr-old daugther loved it. Needless to say I did as well. I topped it with caramel frosting, a recipe I got from this site. It was fantastic. I will definitely make this one again....especially this Christmas!! Thanks for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States