Brown Sugar Pound Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
I'm really not impressed with this recipe. I had to give it a three b/c it is way too dense for my liking and it wasn't that flavorful (even though I added an extra half teaspoon of vanilla and two pinches of salt). It's not a bad recipe but in my opinion, the major problem was the density (no cake should be this heavy!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
I have tried this both with and without the pecans. As much as I love nuts in my breads, this is a 5 star recipe without them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
I thought this one was very good and very easy to make.Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hatty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
This is the best pound cake! It turned out so moist, not too sweet. My husband and his friend raved over it! It is a big cake, but my hubby didn't mind that! I just made a simple warm powdered sugar glaze. Just melt 1/3 stick butter in saucepan and stir in 2 C. powdered sugar and 1 1/2 tsp vanilla. Add 2-4 tbsp water, 1 tbsp at a time until smooth and sort of like a thick syrup. Then you drizzle it over the cooled cake! YUMMY!! Great for the Thanksgiving and CHRISTmas! Will make again! Thanks! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
I made this yesterday. It was delicious!!!! Next time I will not add pecans for a change. Or 1/2 called for. I used it for a strawberry shortcake base and we loved it. No changes to it except I did cut it down for 8 servings and put in a loaf pan and had to cook it too long to get it done inside and too brown on the outside. Will use less batter in loaf pan. But that was my problem. Thanks for a delicious, easy dessert cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PatB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Amherst, New York, USA
Living In: Trenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
Ijust had a piece or[two] as did my husband and he said i outdid myself!It came out light and fluffy also i made the glaze that TLBRAN wrote in her review, just delicious !I can't wait to make it for Christmas as gifts, i am sure it will be a big hit. thanks again for all the great receipes,NanaLynn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
Fabulous! I did change the recipe up a bit. I am in grad school for gastronomy and our class was doing coffee history one week. We all take turns bringing food to class, so I made this fabulous recipe, replacing half the milk with espresso, and the pecans with white chocolate chips. It was just decadent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sashanna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
Made it tonight. Followed exactly - came out great! I read earlier comments.. You shouldn't lessen the sugar, it'll make the cake less dense. Also, it's very important to add sugar very slowly. Take 5-7 minutes to add. Add eggs one at a time and beat until just blended. Don't over beat eggs! Your cake will overflow if you do. I baked mine in a metal bundt pan for 70 minutes and it was perfect. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
This cake was very easy to make and everyone (including kids) loved it. I served it with just warmed up jar carmel sauce drizzled over each individual piece. Left overs held up very well. A nice change of pace from typical chocolate/yellow/carrot cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
i emitted the pecans and added finely chopped walnuts instead.. this cake was to die for. just the right amount of sweetness and it was super moist and had a wonderful texture. i made enough for a bundt cake and there was still some batter left over, which i poured into these bite size cupcake molds. amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States