Brown Sugar Pound Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
Great recipe just the way it is. Definately reminds me of cookie dough like flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Java_Girl
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
Great flavor and it's nice and moist. It baked up with no problem and I like the nuts and might even add a 1/2c mini chocolate chips next time. The brown sugar flavor reminds me of chocolate chip cookies so I think it'll be a great match but I don't want to make it too chocolatey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Java_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
VERY GOOD RECIPE,ADDED A RUM SAUCE,YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I totally agree..this is the best!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Social Circle, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
I'm really not impressed with this recipe. I had to give it a three b/c it is way too dense for my liking and it wasn't that flavorful (even though I added an extra half teaspoon of vanilla and two pinches of salt). It's not a bad recipe but in my opinion, the major problem was the density (no cake should be this heavy!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
I have tried this both with and without the pecans. As much as I love nuts in my breads, this is a 5 star recipe without them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
I thought this one was very good and very easy to make.Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hatty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
This is the best pound cake! It turned out so moist, not too sweet. My husband and his friend raved over it! It is a big cake, but my hubby didn't mind that! I just made a simple warm powdered sugar glaze. Just melt 1/3 stick butter in saucepan and stir in 2 C. powdered sugar and 1 1/2 tsp vanilla. Add 2-4 tbsp water, 1 tbsp at a time until smooth and sort of like a thick syrup. Then you drizzle it over the cooled cake! YUMMY!! Great for the Thanksgiving and CHRISTmas! Will make again! Thanks! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
I made this yesterday. It was delicious!!!! Next time I will not add pecans for a change. Or 1/2 called for. I used it for a strawberry shortcake base and we loved it. No changes to it except I did cut it down for 8 servings and put in a loaf pan and had to cook it too long to get it done inside and too brown on the outside. Will use less batter in loaf pan. But that was my problem. Thanks for a delicious, easy dessert cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PatB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Amherst, New York, USA
Living In: Trenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
Ijust had a piece or[two] as did my husband and he said i outdid myself!It came out light and fluffy also i made the glaze that TLBRAN wrote in her review, just delicious !I can't wait to make it for Christmas as gifts, i am sure it will be a big hit. thanks again for all the great receipes,NanaLynn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States