Brown Sugar Pound Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
EASY and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
I made this last weekend and took it to work... not one person passed up a piece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
Dense and moist, with a nice butterscotch flavor, not too sweet. I sprinkled powdered sugar on the top. It would also probably be good with a light orange glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
Fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
WOW! This was a wonderful pound cake. The brown sugar just gave it a nice flavor that was not your usual pound cake. I doubled the vanilla called for and made it in a bundt pan. I made sure to really whip the sugar and butter, adding both gradually to really keep it light and fluffy, and added each egg slowly as well. It was easy and everyone loved it. Served it topped with fresh strawberries and whipped cream. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rjlund

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
This cake is soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Compton, California, USA
Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
I didn't realize that this recipe made so much! I only had a loaf pan. I would highly recommend halving the recipe if you're not wanting to make a large bundt. I ended up having to make two loaves because I had so much batter. When using a loaf pan, increase the cooking time to 75 minutes. At 60 minutes, it's still gooey in the middle. Also, for a better flavor, use a tablespoon of vanilla and a teaspoon of almond extract. That helps with the complaints on here about the cake being too bland. Also, I sprinkled a sweet cinnamon sprinkle on top with crushed walnuts and it came out delicious (the ends were a little tough, but soften up nicely with whipped cream on top). :) All in all, a delicious cake recipe I'll add to my box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
I made this for a bake sale, and let me tell you, it was a real act of charity to give it away. The batter and crumbs were delicious and I only wish I could have had a big piece. It smelled wonderful when baking. I used Caramel Frosting I on it. 10/20/08--I wanted to try this cake so badly that I bought it back at the bake sale! It's very good, has the brown sugar taste, the right pound cake consistency, and is very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
Loved it! So simple to make and I served it with a warm brown sugar syrup.I omitted the pecans though.Warm comfort food never tasted better.Its a keeper! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuckyAustralian

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
Moist and falvorful this cake. Can not understand reviewers saying it was dry. You do need to beat butter and sugar thoroughly, and the same goes for the eggs. After it sits a few days the texture and flavour improves. Thanks for submitting - it is a classy cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States