Brown Sugar Pound Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
I used someone's suggestion of substituting almond milk, and I substituted toasted walnuts instead of pecans only because I had no pecans. This cake is sooooo delicious. Even the crust has a caramelly taste. It does not need a glaze. Such a treat for the first day of Autumn. . . and the second . . . and every day after!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Janesville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
I have to say this is the BEST!! pound cake iv EVER made!! seriously it is that GOOD!! I did make cupcakes out of the recipe and this cake is sooooo not bland like some other reviewers said its DELICIOUS! I like that its not overly dense it is so moist! I LOVE IT!! i didnt have any pecans but i did have butterscotch chips so i added those i almost wished i didnt when i make this cake again i will add the nuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2013
This cake was delicious and the recipe was very easy to follow! I am definitely going to make this cake over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
This cake was a hit at my roommate's Bday party. I modified it significantly. I added 1/4 cup Hennessy and substituted almond milk for the cow milk. The cake was super moist, super delicious and the brown sugar glaze (brown sugar, butter melted together with 2 tblsp cream and 1/4 tsp salt added) with almond slivers made it lovely. Also, it was very tall. Very. Make sure your bunt pan is large enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
Tried this recipe last year. It was a family function. Everyone loved it! The family continues to ask for this cake. I followed the direction to a tee. It's great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
I absolutely love this cake! I used salted butter since the recipe doesn't have any in it. I will definitely put this in my collection of recipes to keep forever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Made it as instructed and made the brown sugar frosting another reviewer posted and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JenToBeach
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Great cake. Easy to make and better to eat. Not very sweet so its perfect! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenToBeach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Very Very Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Winona O'Neil

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
VERY GOOD!!! I added 1Tbsp cinnamon to the mix. I only had walnuts so I toasted then in a skillet with butter, cinnamon & brown sugar. I am going to use a caramel glaze on my
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States