Brown Sugar Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2000
I served this on Christmas'eve. I'm Canadian and I remembered this pie from my childhood. It was very good and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint-Jean-Sur-Richelieu, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2000
Unbelievably easy to make. I liked this simple pie, it was like a pecan pie without the pecans, and not as sweet. But still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2001
I had to do a report in my French class, and use a food example. I used this pie and everyone loved it. I am 12 years old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2002
Someone please tell me what I did wrong. I followed the recipe exactly, but the pie boiled over in the oven (I had it sitting on a cookie sheet). It was still too liquidy after 30 mins. The pie crust on the edges burned where the sugar filling got on it. I would like to try again because the smell and taste are great, but it really made a mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2002
After reading the other reviews, I paid close attention to what I did as I made this pie. I did not measure with great accuracy - just threw everything in a saucpan before I started to mix it all up. I let it cook for about a minute after it started to boil, and then baked it per the directions. If did not spill over, or burn. It came out of the oven hot and bubbling, and semi-firm. It set as it cooled...and was fantastic!!! Incredibly rich and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
This is definitely delicious; I'm sure I will be making it again. It's fantastic topped with vanilla ice cream--or accompanied by a tall glass of water: it's SO RICH, it almost chokes you. It's easy to prepare and impressive to guests, but it does take a while to firm once it's out of the oven... after cooling for 20-30 minutes on the stove it was still far too liquid, so I put it in the refrigerator, and it took another half hour even then. So, go ahead and make this, but bake ahead of time and let it set a good long while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2003
Easy and really delicious. I think it serves more like 16 people not 8 because this is really rich and I don't think anyone in their right mind would have 1/8th of the pie. I loved this. It sounds like a good idea to have with vanilla ice cream but would likely be too much sweetness. I might add some pecans next time though to see how it turns out. Thanks for the recipe. Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2003
Made this as a suprise for my husband...always loves it when his dad bakes a brown sugar pie. This one does not even compare to the one that his dad makes. Guess I should have gotten the recipe from him. My dogs enjoyed the pie though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Afton, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2003
This was fantastic! I have lived in Quebec all my life and have never tasted a Tarte au Sucre as tasty as this one! Great recipe, super easy and quick clean up! Thanks Suzanne! Merci!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2003
A very good pie with a light toffee flavour. Not the kind of sugar pie you can find in the North of France or in Belgium, something different but as good. Ooh, by the way, I ate 1/8 of the pie, and I think I am right in my mind... ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IVANDIEPART

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brussels, Brussels, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States