Brown Sugar Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 23, 2011
I made this when I had about 10 people over for dinner. It was not good at all, I blamed it on trying new recipes on the net. Everyone tried it and no one wanted to take the extra pie home with them. Would not recommend this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatherineJolliffe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Platte, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I remember these when I was young and my mother use to make them. I had lost the recipe. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
I have had this in the past, and it is a diabetic's worst nightmare. Very sweet, yummy, fantastic, but what a rush for the blood sugars!!! Just to mention you only need about 1/8th to 1/4 inch deep of the liquid in the pie crust for it to be the right thickness once baked. Too much of a good thing is not better in this case. More than 3/8ths and it takes the pie into just too much for a dessert. Like someone else said, I can make it for others, but not for myself. My blood sugars rise just looking at the picture!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Bay, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Drette ma recette :) Tellement sucrée, mais tellement bonne cette tarte au sucre!! That's my family's recipe. So sweet, yet such a good sugar pie recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pamcancook
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Interesting recipe, the pie or should I say pies turned out great. The filling would have been a bit to much for one frozen pie shell so instead of throwing some out I made two out of it. Sure its sweet but it is also tasty and goes great with whip cream or ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamcancook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Had to rate it because it just doesn't have lots of reviews and I think it deserves it - so loved it - easy to make. Only problem I had is I have to go make another one.... I even used milk because that's all I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Yummy! This is a dense sugar pie. I'm from Quebec and this tastes just like home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
I visited Quebec City in July 2008. I bought a slice of Tarte au Sucre in the touristy area of the city and it wasn't as great as I was expecting. This recipe is fabulous!! It's exactly what I've been told Tarte au Sucre should taste like. I'm not sure if I left it in the oven too long, because the filling had a delicious crust on it and it was like soft toffee! This may or may not have been a happy accident, but I'm glad it came out this way. You're left with bits of Tarte au Sucre in your teeth after finishing your slice, yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
It came out perfectly the first time! This was great and got lots of rave reviews at dinner. It tastes way better cold than out of the oven warm. I topped it with pecans to give it a butter tart type taste. The only thing I think I will do differently is try a home made crust. Store bought crusts didn't do it justice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
It worked out perfectly! My boyfriend is originally from Quebec and said this recipe was perfect! It was super easy to make, and I just used a prepackaged pastry pie crust that you roll out. Saves so much time! Plus with this recipe it gives it a much more creamier texture since the eggs are not present, so it's not that "pumpkin pie texture"... it's firm enough that it's easy to cut and serve, but creamy enough to melt in your mouth!!! Follow these directions exactly and I promise you will succeed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Chess Pie

A traditional Southern sweet and rich pie.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States