Brown Sugar, Mustard-Glazed Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2004
My mother and I have used this recipe for years.The only difference is that we soak the ham in Coca-Cola for 15 min. first and we like the tang of regular yellow mustard better.I have never had a ham that I liked better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
One of the most basic glazes I've tried and, as is so often the case, one of the best. Simple, on hand ingredients is a definite plus. One thing I found helpful is to move the hame onto a foil lined pan when it's time to glaze otherwise the cleanup can be a bit of a pain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2005
We really like our ham with plain prepared mustard & black pepper, so I compromised. First, I scored the ham and rubbed on my original mustard & black pepper mix. 30 minutes before taking it out, I basted it with the Dijon & brown sugar. We all enjoyed it, and I think I will do this from now on. Also, the best store-bought ham I've ever had is Tavern Ham. I find it most often at Wal-Mart. It's a bit pricier, but well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leahnwells

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
An easy, tasty recipe for ham...but I'm not sure about the directions. It says that the ham should bake for 2 hours before the glaze is put on...my ham was fully cooked already, and took only half an hour to heat up completely. After the half hour, I put on the glaze and baked it for another half hour. It came out delicious. I can't imagine what it would have been like had I baked it for 2 hours! Also, there is a bit too much sugar in the glaze...I cut it down to 1 cup, and if I make this again, I'll probably cut it down a bit more. Altogether, this is very tasty. I might make it again...Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
I don't usually give out five stars, but this was great and sooo simple. Just made this for Easter and everyone raved about how great the ham was. It was probably the best ham I've ever tasted. I did soak the ham in a can of coca cola for about 15 inutes prior to cooking. Awesome and easy, definately recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2003
Very easy to use and the kids like helping with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
I used regular brown sugar and 1 c. not 1 1/4c. It was weird to spread on b/c its real thick. Maybe it was the mustard(Inglehoffer). It bubbled up alot during cooking. Im glad I lined my baking pan with foil. Came out pretty tasty. :) My family ate it up! and they're picky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMY509

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2005
My husband and I BOTH HATED this recipe, it tasted like Mustard over ham. The steaks were gooey and just really tasted like mustard and sugar, I'll never use this recipe again, EVER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHERRYGILL2000

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2005
This is awesome. I've tried several glazes & this by far is the most tender & juicest.. Who would of ever thought 2 simple ingredients!YUMMMMMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTJEN33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2004
This was really very good. I'm not usually a fan of glazes on ham, but I decided to try this one because of the mustard. It was delicious - very sweet, but with a bit of tang. I will not try another recipe, this is now "my" ham glaze! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMWILSON98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dixon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States