Brown Sugar Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2002
I think the brown sugar and ketchup should be on top of the meatloaf, not in the bottom of the pan. When I sliced the meatloaf, the brown sugar/ketchup mixture remained in the bottom of the pan, so I tried to invert the pan so that the mixture would drain into and flavor the meatloaf. This was a disaster - the sauce splattered all over the kitchen. I just don't see the point of having the brown sugar/ketchup in the bottom of the pan as it didn't flavor the meat much. It should be on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2522 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2003
Delicious. I did make one alteration though. I don't like to make meatloaf in a loaf pan as i find the meat just sits in the grease. I formed my meat loaf, put it in a large casserole dish and put the glaze on the top. I was able to drain the grease 3 or 4 times during the cooking process. The glaze remained in tact and the meat came out moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2433 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
I know I'm just another in a long line of reviewers, but I enjoyed this recipe just as much as everyone else! I didn't read through all the reviews, but from most of them I gathered modifications, which added up to a winning recipe! - I only used 1/4 cup of brown sugar. - I added 1 tablespoon of Worcestershire sauce to the ketchup/brown sugar mix. - I used 1/2 cup of milk and 1 egg. - I added 2 cloves of garlic to the meat mixture. Plus, I love celery, so I chopped up some of that and added it in. Finally, I used a cup of season bread crumbs instead of the crackers. Being impatient and hungry, I followed another user's idea and made mini-loves in my muffin pan. I put the ketchup/brown sugar sauce on bottom, cooked for 30 minutes at 350 degrees, then spooned the rest of the sauce on top and cooked another 15. This was so delicious, I can't wait to make it again - this time in actual loaf form. Yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2304 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Edina, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
Very good. I placed two slices of bread in the bottom of the loaf pan. (I saw this on Foodnetwork)The bread absorbs the grease. Then I placed the meatloaf on top of the bread. I mixed the brown sugar and ketchup and spread it on top of the meatloaf and placed 4 thick slices of good bacon on top. I turned out very good. Thanks. Joyln
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1284 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFJOYLN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Clairsville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2002
This recipe was fabulous!!!! Instead of spreading the ketchup and brown sugar on the bottom of the pan I mixed them together and used it as a glaze on top of the loaf and it came out beautifully. I won't be using any other meatloaf recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
925 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Living In: Martinez, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2002
Yummy!! Best meatloaf I ever made. I did use onion soup mix instead of the chopped onion and only 1/4 c. milk, thought the mixture was moist enough and didnt want it to be too mushy. I also took the advise of other reviewers and used only 1/4 c. of the brown sugar and a few splashes of worcestshire with the ketchup and spread this on top of the meatloaf. Very tasty....thanks for a fabulous recipe, Starbuck!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
807 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
This was excellent! I took reviewers' suggestions and used only 1/2 cup of milk, and added garlic and 1 tblsp worcestershire to the beef. I used about 1/4+ cup of brown sugar, the catsup, and yes, a tbls of worcestershire to the glaze. Outstanding, and rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
568 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
This is very close to a recipe my mom made often, the only difference being she added some mustard(dry spice works nice) and worchestershire to the brown sugar/ketchup mixture. (We put it on top too.) That might add some zing for those that found this recipe a lil bit too sweet. I also add garlic to the meat as another reader did, as I'm a Garlic-holic myself. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
389 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATJENKINS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Holland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2002
I am not a meatloaf eater, but I found this recipe to be absolutely wonderful! My husband agreed (and he's a picky eater). I did have to tweak the ingredients a little. I used 1/3 cup of brown sugar instead of 1/2; ground turkey instead of ground beef; 1 packet of onion soup mix instead of a chopped onion; and 3/4 cup of bread crumbs instead of saltine crackers. I also mixed the ketcup and brown sugar into a glaze and used it on top of the meatloaf. I let the glaze cook on the meat for the last 15 minutes of oven time. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
388 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TGHEE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
I increased the recipe to feed 12 & then cooked most in the called-for loaf pan & the rest in a mini loaf pan. Per reviews, I made the following changes (I gave 4 stars to the recipe as written but w/ the help of the other reviewers this was 5 star).... I only used 1/2 cup of brown sugar & I did add a couple tbp. of worcestershire to the sauce. I added a pkt of onion soup mix & used half chopped onion. Decreased teh milk to 1/2 cup (remember I have increased the recipe by half) & I only put a little bit of the sauce on bottom, using most of it on top. I also used half ground beef & half ground turkey. This was moist, flavorful & hubby said it beats out his recipe. Thank you Starbuck & fellow reviewers! I served it w/ roasted sweet potatoes & onions & a salad....cherry salad (from allrecipes) for dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
325 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 5,468) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Brown Sugar Meatloaf

See how to make a 5-star meatloaf that’s tangy and slightly sweet.

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Brown Sugar Smokies

Nothing beats bacon-wrapped sausages on a stick!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States