Brown Sugar Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 12, 2015
As is, I thought it was bland and too sweet. Tasted a lot better after reducing the sugar to 1/4 cup, reducing the milk to 1/3 cup, adding more pepper, adding minced garlic, adding Worcestershire sauce and substituting seasoned bread crumbs for the saltine crackers. That's too much tweaking though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Milo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2015
I made this slightly larger thinking I'd have some leftovers for lunch at work. It was so tasty my roommate and I ate the whole thing in one sitting... oops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2015
I agree with the reviewer who said to use a casserole dish instead of a loaf pan. My tip: cover a meat rack with aluminum foil and poke little wholes in the foil with a knife to drain the grease. Place the meat rack in the casserole dish and put the meatloaf on top. Then,I love to use brown sugar, ketchup, and 1 tsp of dry mustard as a glaze over the top. I put it on as I place it in the oven.Turns out moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2015
Best meatloaf I've ever ate. I'm probably going to make my husband tired of it I make it so often. Left out ginger but everything else the same. Good cold for sandwiches too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2015
I have made this meatloaf several times! Sometimes I will do Lipton onion soup mix instead of onion, but either way tastes great! Love this meatloaf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2015
This was awesome and moist. I do think there is a little too much milk, I had to add breadcrumbs so it wasn't so wet. I did add a package of onion soup mix instead of an onion. I also added about 3 cloves of garlic. I mixed together the ketchup and brown sugar and added just enough to the bottom of the dish to cover it. I put the rest on the top. Next time I make this I will slightly reduce the amount of sauce, it was a lot. But overall this was delicious (with the changes I would give it a 5) and I will be making it again. I dinged it a star just because I thought the package of onion soup mix was a fairly significant change. It did cook perfectly in a glass loaf pan in 1 hour and the juices at the bottom were great on potatoes. *Update: I made the leftovers as a meatloaf sandwich for the BF with onions, tomatoes, a good sharp cheddar and garlic aioli on toasted sourdough and he said it was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2015
Very tasty! Just a bit too much brown sugar for my taste but otherwise very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dday515

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Fremont, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2015
This meatloaf recipe is by far the best I have ever eaten. I also took the suggestions of using only 1/2 cup milk, and placed the brown sugar/ketchup sauce on top. The brown sugar/ketchup helps make the meatloaf, and I just didn't want the extra grease mixing in with it. Awesome...recommend!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
I always get great compliments on this meatloaf. I make it with ground turkey, and substitute wheat toast for saltines. I also add oregano and Dijon mustard. I flip the pan over to serve and spoon the juice back over the top. Don't overcook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 5,708) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Brown Sugar Meatloaf

See how to make a 5-star meatloaf that’s tangy and slightly sweet.

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Grilled Brown Sugar Pork Chops

Sweet and juicy, brown sugar pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States