Brown Sugar Instant Oatmeal Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
Great recipe because it can be changed around to suit your personal needs or taste. I used the apple/cinnamon packets of lower sugar oatmeal, added 1 tsp. cinnamon,1 tsp. vanilla & 1/3 C. chopped walnuts to the recipe. I also used non fat milk, part Splenda, part applesauce for some of the oil, part whole wheat flour to make it even healthier. Next time I will try adding Craisins. These freeze well and are delicious! Thanks so much for the recipe! It's a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Winter Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
This is such a quick and easy recipe to make. Reading some of the other reviews I was a little concerned with the fact they may be so dry, so I did add the extra egg, 1.5 teaspoons maple extract and used 1/2 cup of sugar. If you are after a light and fluffy muffin then these are not for you, they certainly more robust but I would not say they were dry. Next time I plan on making them with some of the other instant oatmeal flavors like cinnamon and apple. I loved the look of these muffins, nice high peaks like you get from a bakery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
These were quick and easy and tasted great! I used soy or almond milk because of lactose intolerance. Super!! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
This was a very mouthwatering recipe and it smelled delightful while baking in the oven. Instead of veg. oil I used half a stick of butter. I also baked it as a cake because I didn't have muffin tins but it came out great. Insted of instant oatmeal packets I used oatmeal, brown suger and a little bit of maple suryp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
these were perfect. I made them in my dorm, and the whole place smelled wonderful. they were soft, fluffy, and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Was looking for a way to use up some of my maple and brown sugar instant oatmeal and found this! Turned out great. Dried cranberries would be a great addition. Streusel topping is a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
I think this would be good with any instant oatmeal. The only thing i did different was a little more cinnamon and 1 tsp. vanilla. thanks alot lisa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
My family loved this recipe! We substituted blueberry oatmeal for the maple and butter for the oil. They were sweet, moist, and enjoyed by every member of my family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Nice to find a recipe that actually CALLS for oatmeal packets. Usually, I just resort to them in a pinch. Super quick for breakfast and very yummy warm out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
This was an easy late nite snack, that was a delicious smack-down on my hunger. I used what I had on hand, which was cinnamon-plum spiced/flax instant oatmeal. Additionally, I used Splenda instead of white sugar. Sure it could use more sugar/sweetener if a cupcake was the goal...but as a muffin...nope, as is...perfect. Thanks for the share. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZCHOCTAW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Brown Butter Pineapple Corn Muffins

See how to make amazing cornbread muffins.

Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins

This vegan cornbread is made with whole-wheat flour and agave syrup.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States