Brown Sugar Instant Oatmeal Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
The muffins were good, next time I will use 2 eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Meriden, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
This is such a quick and easy recipe to make. Reading some of the other reviews I was a little concerned with the fact they may be so dry, so I did add the extra egg, 1.5 teaspoons maple extract and used 1/2 cup of sugar. If you are after a light and fluffy muffin then these are not for you, they certainly more robust but I would not say they were dry. Next time I plan on making them with some of the other instant oatmeal flavors like cinnamon and apple. I loved the look of these muffins, nice high peaks like you get from a bakery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
I made some of the changes others' suggested (one of my favorite things about allrecipes) - such as adding an additional egg and vanilla. I used brown sugar instead of white and a little more baking powder (1T). I also added a package of the oatmeal to the streusel topping since I had an extra one, and 2 mashed bananas to the mix. The muffins were light in texture and flavor and had nice high peaks - so they were very appealing in appearance too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
These turned out allright, no complaints but no compliments either. I may make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
It was a little dense and sticky, I dont know if that contributed from subsituting veg oil with apple sauce? I used apples & cinnamon instant oatmeal. It was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by djhens70

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
This was an easy late nite snack, that was a delicious smack-down on my hunger. I used what I had on hand, which was cinnamon-plum spiced/flax instant oatmeal. Additionally, I used Splenda instead of white sugar. Sure it could use more sugar/sweetener if a cupcake was the goal...but as a muffin...nope, as is...perfect. Thanks for the share. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZCHOCTAW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Thanks for the recipe, but I found these to be a little gummy. I'm wondering if its the brand of instant oatmeal I used? Anyhow, not sure I will try these again but if I do I will have to make some adjustments. (More maple, vanilla, or something) Thse were just missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Nice to find a recipe that actually CALLS for oatmeal packets. Usually, I just resort to them in a pinch. Super quick for breakfast and very yummy warm out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
If you add a second egg, it makes them perfectly light and fluffy! Some people with a sweet tooth may want to add a bit more sugar, but I enjoyed it as is. I had only one packet of oatmeal so I used a half cup of Raisin Bran and it worked great! I also added blueberrys for fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
Very average, very heavy, gummy muffins. Despite adding more sugar and vanilla these were disappointing. I won't make them again and will likely throw the remaining 6 muffins away. I'll look for some other recipe to use up extra packages of instant oatmeal -- this won't cut it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Brown Butter Pineapple Corn Muffins

See how to make amazing cornbread muffins.

Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins

This vegan cornbread is made with whole-wheat flour and agave syrup.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States