Brown Sugar Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
This was great! Loved how easy it was. Used a corn syrup substitute of 1/4 cup water to 1 cup sugar. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I kept this warm on the stove instead of letting it cool and drizzled over slices of warm chocolate mayonaise cake. (Mayonnaise Cake II that I got from this site). I used light brown sugar instead of dark because it's all I had, and I thought it needed a little something else so I added a little honey, a pinch of ginger, and a little vanilla. It didn't harden keeping it on warm for those who wanted more and the whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMMSEJS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Delicious! I used this for my sugar cookies. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
too hard to spread, pulls apart the cupcakes. tried adding water to thin it, doesn't taste the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
Was great! Just like the one grandma used to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Sherbrooke, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
I substituted light molasses plus 1 teaspoon Watkins Carmel extract. It was delicious but I had a problem with it setting up too quickly. I couldn't get it spread out over the whole cake, any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albert Lea, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
Nice & simple as I like it...used molasses instead of corn syrup (didn't have), still good, richer flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emme

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
Easy recipe but does taste like confectioners sugar. Sets-up nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
Substituting 1 cup mild molasses and 1 cup granulated sugar for 1 cup brown sugar will make this have a yummy caramel flavor too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
LOVED this easy recipe! After reading the other reviews, I decided to bring the mixture to a slow boil to see if I could get more of a caramel flavor. The flavor was great, but maybe a little too sweet to put on a sweet cookie, so next time I'll add some salt as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States