Brown Sugar Cut-Out Cookies and Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
WOW, I have to say that I am really disappointed in this recipe :( I added an egg and a little bit of milk just like the other review said because it was way to much flour to blend properly. I then spent time rolling and cutting out the cookies and baking them. After baking 3 trays, I tried one..., very bland, no flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
I have made these cookies numerous times. I love that they are a little crispy around the edges, but stay soft due to the brown sugar. They keep their shape, which has been my problem in the past. I do not add any egg as other reviews mentioned, but I have had to add more milk and I substitute almond extract for the vanilla. Everybody compliments these cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Very dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nunyabusiness

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sanford, Maine, USA
Living In: Bluffton, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
These were very easy to make and roll out. Perfect recipe for Christmas decorating cookies for my family as my son is allergic to eggs and this recipe does not call for them. They are not overly sweet which is nice as well. The dough does need a little more milk to properly mix together but other than that it was great. Thanks for the recipe. We were finally able to decorate Christmas cookies and had so much fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATTSBELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
These are not cookies they are biscuits...but I turned it into a positive threw some chocolate chips in there and made biscotti inspired chocolate chip biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roseshavethornz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I Love Love the iceing recipe. Thats why i gave it 4 stars. Its super easy to make and yummy. As for the cookie recipe, i would have only gave it a 2.5. I had to add the vanilla and a egg like recommened, and still had to add etra 1 and 1/4 cups of milk to get it to turn from a powder into a dough. Then i had to use lots of flour on th counter top to stop the sticking. If you have no experence baking, i wouldn't recomend this recipe. But on the flip side after i got the dough to work my 3 year old LOVED helping mom make cookie cut outs! We will keep the recipe around. But its not my favorit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B.Y.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
I was very pleased with this recipe. I took some other peoples advice and added an egg and used 2 tsp vanilla. I tinted the icing different colors and the kids had a lot of fun decoracting their cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Very easy to make! I baked these with a 7 year old today, nothing so complicated that she lost interest. While the dough was chilling we made the icing in numerous colors. Both turned out wonderful. I would recommend this recipe to anyone who wants to teach a child to bake cookies, very child friendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lgcyfrms

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
There is way too much flour in this recipe. You can't even form a dough from it. I had to add in more wet ingredients to do anything with it and it was very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
This is a good cookie option for those who can't have eggs. After cooking, the cookie will not have the firm "bite" that a cookie with eggs would have, but it still tastes good. I made the following changes: added a little extra milk to get the dough to bind together, increased the cooking time to 9 minutes. When I took the cookies out at 6 minutes, they weren't fully cooked and even after cooling fell apart because they were so doughy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merryc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States