Brown Sugar Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
My roommate was making up a box of carrot cake muffins, and asked me to help her with the frosting. I couldn't find my measuring spoons, so I just eyeballed everything and I can't believe how good it turned out! Our other roommate probably ate half right out of the bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessi

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
This was surprising. I have made cream cheese frosting for years, and it was only when I ran out of confectioners, did I try this recipe. Makes a really nice frosting with a nice complex flavor you don't get using confectioners sugar. I used it on a fruit cocktail cake recipe I got on this site. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakergrrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
I don't know what was wrong with this icing, but it did not taste good. I had to add ingredients to try to make it tasty, but my whole family disliked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
Fantastic cream cheese frosting recipe. Especially if you do not have confectioner's sugar on hand! I made it with the full amount of almond extract and it is good, but you have to like almond extract. You could easily do with out it. There is enough flavor there with the vanilla, ceam cheese, and honey. I put this frosting on the onebowl chocolate cake III on this site (made cupcakes, with hot coffee substituted for the boiling water) It made an intense dark chocolate flavor and so I needed a not so sweet but flavorful frosting. Fantastic together. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamlin, New York, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
Awesome. I used extra honey for the sugar and omitted the butter. Everyone loved it! Beware though, the almond flavor is strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
To me, this just tasted like whipped-up cream cheese, not frosting. That being said, I did omit the honey, though I cannot imagine that would have helped much. It did add something to my cake, a cinnamon-swirl sheet cake, but I only had enough to frost half of it...maybe a good thing?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHELWEEDEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
I used this on the recipe for pumpkin cake III and it was very good! I got rave reviews when I made this and I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
Wow, this frosting is amazing! It has such a unique taste. It is just perfect. I just used it to frost my chocolate pumpkin cake. (also found on this website)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ulster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
I followed this recipe AND included 1/2 tsp almond extract. I had no problem with the flavor. I consider myself a seasoned baker with a good amount of experience. I suspect that those who did not like the flavor might have used imitation extracts instead of pure extracts. The difference between the two is exponential. I don't allow imitation anything in my house. Had I made the icing with imitation extract I would have spit it out myself. I feel it is unnecessary to melt the butter, just get it to room temp first before adding to the cream cheese. If you like cream cheese icing, there's nothing not to like with this recipe. I did not increase the amounts of anything in this recipe and found it a nice side complement to the Martha Stewart Spicy Pumpkin Bundt Cake Recipe which is excellent. Also followed that recipe exactly. There is not much volume because this has less butter and sugar than normal cream cheese icing so if you need a lot, double the recipe or consider adding more brown sugar and butter. It was not grainy at all. The since all the ingredients are room temp, the sugar dissolves and blends in just fine. I used honey that was created locally, not commercial mass marketed honey. I don't think this recipe needs more sugar. The point is to eat it with the cake in your mouth which has sugar in it already. You'll find the flavors meld well. But if you eat it alone, don't expect it to taste like high fructose processed icing from a container. It tastes like cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
An excellent alternative to powdered sugar based cream cheese frosting. As other reviewers have suggested, I increased the brown sugar and honey and omitted the almond extract. I used this to frost Buttermilk Cinnamon Rolls, also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States