Brown Sugar Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
Very refreshing. It was cream cheese-y instead of sugary. I did not use the almond extract and I used softened butter instead of melted. This recipe did not make a lot so I suggest doubling it. Actually, as an attempt to make more frosting I added an extra Tbsp of butter. I don't know how different from the original the extra butter made it taste. But it tasted very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NICOLE518

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mount Prospect, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
I had high hopes for this recipe since it had so many great reviews. Unfortunately, I feel like you might as well just spread plain old cream cheese on your cake because this did not taste like icicng. Next time, I will just wait until I have confectioners sugar and make a real cream cheese icing instead of ruining another cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Mmmmmmm - this stuff is good. Used with "Apple Banana Cupcakes" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Fantastic frosting! This is a nice texture- creamy and easy to spread. I think the vanilla and almond flavors shine through but the brown sugar doesn't as much. I may try using dark brown sugar next time. This tastes great on spice, pumpkin, or applesauce cake. I think this would make an interesting change of pace for a sugar cookie frosting as well or for banana bars. Great recipe! Definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carterville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
Tried it! It is heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
Amazing cream cheese frosting. Easy and delicious. I could not stop eating it. I had coarse brown sugar and was worried the frosting would be gritty, but came out smooth and yummy. No need to run to the market all ingredients found in the kitchen. Tastes just like the cream cheese frosting from our favourite breakfast spot in Dubai, Lime Tree cafe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by globetrotter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Not as good as regular cream cheese and doesn't make enough either
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Woodall
Home Town: Cartersville, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Fantastic! I will use this for my cream cheese frosting recipe from now on. Although, on my first round I added some fresh blackberry juice which made it too tart and too soft, so I had to fix it with some confectioner's sugar. But prior to adding said juice it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
I substituted the almond extract for a splash of peppermint extract. I sort of screwed up the recipe because I added the honey with the rest of the ingredients, but I don't think this had any affect on the outcome, though. In my opinion, the cream cheese taste was a bit too strong. If I make this again, I'll probably decrease the amount of that. Anyways, it was a good recipe with a butter cake and crushed thin mints sprinkled on top :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
OK, not bowled over. Will stick with regular cream cheese frosting as I prefer the taste and texture better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRAGONFLYJILL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States