Brown Sugar Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Nothing wrong with this recipe at all --- It was quick, easy, and it turned out beautifully --- But nevertheless, I'm only going to give it three stars, as it was much too bland for my personal tastes. I was expecting a much sweeter and more flavourful frosting, but to me it didn't taste like much more than a mild version of cream cheese with a hint of vanilla thrown in. My family quite liked it, though, so that tells me as long as you aren't making this with the same flavour expectations I had, then you should be fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallory Maloney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Great recipe! Used it on a red velvet cake and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by youngwoman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Loved the easee of the recipe. i just didn't think the flavor was so good. I loved the consistency. I will try again and again til I get it right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ThaChocolateDiva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pikesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I agree with some of the other reviews- the almond was a little over powering but overall it was a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sonnibunnies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Great recipe when you find yourself with no powder sugar. We increased the vanilla and left out the almond due to taste preference. Thanks for the recipe. It saved me, as my sticky buns were in the oven when I realized I had no powdered sugar :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fitfreak18

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
This frosting is divine. The only thing I did differently is halved the almond extract, I knew it would overpower the other flavours with one full tsp. I also highly recommend using ONLY pure extracts, they make an enormous difference in flavour. As for the poster who said that this tasted just like a "block of cream cheese", then that is the only ingredient you must've used! This frosting beats up light and fluffy and goes perfectly with a great spice cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I do not like sweet icings but this one is cream cheese and that's all you taste. I had to add powdered sugar to it to make it even act like an icing to spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
turned out sour and awful. still don't know what to do with it since i don't want to ruin the pumpkin cookies it was intended for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary A.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Allenwood, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: North Bend, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
Very refreshing. It was cream cheese-y instead of sugary. I did not use the almond extract and I used softened butter instead of melted. This recipe did not make a lot so I suggest doubling it. Actually, as an attempt to make more frosting I added an extra Tbsp of butter. I don't know how different from the original the extra butter made it taste. But it tasted very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NICOLE518

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mount Prospect, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States