Brown Sugar Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 7, 2013
I am giving this recipe a five stars because it is simple and quick and the outcome is delicious! I did a taste test before I added the almond extract and it tastes just as good with the almond extract included. For those of you who don't have almond extract on hand, this recipe will be just fine without it- it's just having the almond extract is an extra perk! Also, I cut the amount of honey by 1/2 the amount that the recipe calls for and for me, it had the right amount of sweetness. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teeags

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Wow! I loved this recipe! I needed frosting for the Clone of a Cinnabon recipe from this site, and I was out of powdered sugar. This recipe was perfect! Perfect sweetness from the brown sugar, not grainy at all. I even left out the honey because it was fine without it. I will use this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bianca Morgan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I made this frosting when I needed cream cheese frosting for my home made cinnamon rolls, but was out of powdered sugar. This recipe worked out wonderfully. I made the full amount, but only needed half of it for a 9 X 13 pan of rolls. Since I didn't feel an almond flavor would go well with the cinnamon rolls, I omitted the almond extract. This just might become my go-to frosting for cinnamon rolls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
It was super easy, and delicious! I modified it according to what I was baking. I made orange cupcakes, so I replaced the almond extract with orange extract, and only used 1/2 tsp and used 1 1/2 tsp of vanilla. It was absolutely perfect! Just sweet enough, very cream cheesy, and didn't take more than 5 minutes to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
did not like at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lewistown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
This recipe was great! I used turbinado sugar for the brown sugar and agave for the honey. It was a good consistency, not to soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Centerville, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
after reading the reviews, thought I would try it on some filled cupcakes. Tried it, and will never waste my cream cheese on it again. Sorry but I just did not care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
YUMMO! Perfect topping for Apple Banana Cupcakes from this site. This frosting is not overtly sweet, yet lends a nice smooth note to a moist comforting cake. I bet this frosting would be killer good on a carrot/spice cake. I would agree with others here about the use of the almond extract, especially for spice cake kinds of applications. Its totally personal preference. But it was perfect for my apple banana muffins. Thanks for a new favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by runzwitsizrs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Swisher, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
This is very good, and it was wonderful frosted on spiced banana bars. I did add an extra tablespoon of brown sugar, because I wanted a slightly sweeter taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This is wonderful. My husband is allergic to corn products, so I can not use powdered sugar because of the corn starch added. This is a wonderful alternative to using powdered sugar. Very tasty! I used this to frost my son's second birthday cupcakes. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States