Brown Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
This cookie tastes just like a blonde brownie. It even has the same dense chewy texture. However, it has the appearance of a chocolate crinkle with the cracked powdered sugar making it attractive enough for a cookie tray. I made 1/2 recipe, and It made 20 cookies using a cookie scoop. I gently shaped them, but left them in a mound shape, and placed on a parchment paper lined sheet. Even though I coated them well with powdered sugar I had about half of it leftover. Mine took 16-17 minutes to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
I'm so very very glad that I waited to write my review. In fact, you'll probably think I'm totally nuts when I tell you my thoughts. I made these, waited until the next day to taste them because of what the submitter said about the taste getting stronger the next day. I didn't think they really tasted at all. I stuck them away in a cupboard and promptly forgot them. I found them this morning--eleven days later! And guess what?!? I LOVE them! Yes, they are getting old, but the edges are wonderfully crunchy, and the middle is still just creamy soft. And the taste is very pronounced. Yummy with my coffee this morning! Now I'll put them in my freezer to preserve them for the future coffees! Thanks, Noelle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
They turn out perfect every time. I even replaced the butter with vegetable oil once and they were still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
I had fun making this recipe with my kids! It's so fun rolling the dough balls in the confectioner sugar. The cookies are rich and sweet but not too heavy. This is an excellent dessert for anyone looking for a simply, quick and easy cookie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sabrina Williams

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Sort of a butterscotch flavor. I agree that they taste like blondies and I prefer them warm out of the oven (the same way I like my blondies). The reason they are getting three stars is because no one I served them to really thought they were very special. When I showed up at a pot luck I was rushed by people who love my baking and are always looking for something new from me...unfortunately everyone seemed very dissapointed. I asked my friend to be brutally honest and she told me not to make them again-that everything else I make is much better. I'm going to take her advice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Photo by Myrrhmaid
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Delicious cookies! As someone else said, they do taste like blondies. Such a nice texture and so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Myrrhmaid

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by genevieve
Reviewed: May 8, 2014
This is a great recipe that makes chewy soft cookies that go great with tea, coffee or milk! I made exactly as the recipe states and rolled then into balls then flattened a bit then coated with powdered sugar. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I loved these cookies. They came out very nice and soft and almost like a bread texture. They are my new favorite cookies. The only thing that I did not like was that they didnt shape very well, but that may have been something I did wrong. Anyways, we made these for Santa today (Christmas eve) and they were a hit :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jamie
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
They look great but seemed bland to me.. maybe I'll try again later
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jan951
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Delish! I made these just as written and they are delicious. They absolutely remind you of Blondies. As suggested by another reviewer, I think I will reduce the brown sugar to 1 3/4 c. Thnx for sharing! ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States