Brown Sugar Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I used this recipe for Christmas cutouts. I'd been using my mothers recipe for years and years. This recipe is MUCH better. ( sorry mom ) I followed the recipe exactly except the whipping cream. I had none on hand but...I added a shot of eggnog instead. LOL. I think the cookies are perfectly sweet, and crisp. I also refrigerated for only an hour. No problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I liked them a lot. I used 1 cup of brown sugar instead of 2, and chilled for less than half the time. They came out great, but have more of a sweet tea-time biscuit flavor than an American traditional cookie flavor. The texture was really pleasant. Easier than I expected. Someone said they are too rich, and I can't imagine what they mean. They are pretty mild as far as cookies go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
These were more like muffins in the shape of cookies. I used 1 c. sugar instead of 1/2 c. and they wre still not very sweet. Idon't want to make them agian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sugar-n-spice

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washougal, Washington, USA
Living In: Scio, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
Really good cookie. My daughter is hard to please and she loves them too. Only problem was not enough brown sugar for us. I used 2 cups like oe of the other reviewers did. That made them perfect. I am going to make another batch tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I made these for my snack durng the week. I don't like the doughy quality of my cookies but I will tweak your version until it comes out right. I loved the icing. It really added to the cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicago Cook Gurl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
I messed with the recipe some. I increased the flour by 1/2 cup. I doubled the vanilla and brown sugar I also added about a 1/4 c. white sugar. When I took them out of the oven they smelled PHENOMENAL! I loved them. My 2 year old loves them too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mariakins

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Photo by Eva Amber
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
This dough was easy to make, and easy to work with. Not too sticky at all. I made huge cutouts and they didn't dry out in the oven, get too crispy, or burn. They needed some frosting to be perfect (in my opinion). I used to sugar cookie icing, yellow sugar, and mini chocolate chips on mine to try to make sunflower cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
I am constantly looking for dessert recipes with less than copious amounts of sugar and I'm thrilled to say this is a great one. I even substituted 25% of the flour with ground flax meal to add some omega-3s and it was awesome. My husband is crazy about these too. I despise our American sugar obsession and can appreciate the subtle sweetness these cookies offer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stephanie watson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tyler, Texas, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
These were pretty good. I added a half cup of white sugar too. They weren't all that sweet, but they tasted better the next day. The kids ate them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2005
I thought this was great. The cookies were moist and chewy and stayed thusly for several days. I added a 1/2 cup of white sugar, substituted half/half for the water and heavy cream, and did not refridgerate the dough. Otherwise I prepared the recipe exactly as stated, and it was grand. My family couldn't get enough of these cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States