Brown Sugar Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2004
Excellent! After reading reviews made these changes: melted 6 tbsp of margarine, added 6 tbsp brown sugar, 1 tbsp soy sauce, 1 tbsp worcestershire sauce, Onion soup mix, and garlic powder. Then sprinkled the chops w/ pepper & marinated in the liquid for an hr, turning over once. I marinated the chops in the baking pan, so all I had to do was throw in some chunks of potatoes & carrots, mixing it around to make sure they were coated w/ the liquid. I only cooked 2 chops to have enough sauce for flavoring the veggies and also used bone-in chops. I baked for about 30-45 min, covered in foil, and uncovered for the last 10 min to brown under the broiler, turning over once halfway. My chops were EXCELLENT! Great flavor (not too sweat or salty), juicy, & nicely browned. The sauce was the best, and my boyfriend said they were better than his mom's (she's a great cook). Sauce made it great, it was a little thin, but great over white rice. Excellent recipe! Might try Beefy onion soup next time! Thanks Jodi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
222 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
These chops have great potential! I followed the recipe exactly but after the time allotted, the chops didn't appear to look done, so I cooked them for an additional 20 minutes...with no improvement. Finally, I took them out, cut into one and found that they were indeed cooked through. They just didn't brown or glaze like normal looking chops. Therefore, the chops were not only a small eyesore, but they were dried out (due to my overcooking). Next time, when it comes time to uncover the chops, I flip them over and cook for the last 15 min so that they look brown and have that brown sugar glaze all over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
212 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2003
Even my picky 4 yr old loved it! We marinaded the chops in a mixture of the butter (melted), brown sugar and soy sauce, for 3 hrs prior to cooking. Then we took the chops out of that and put them on the baking dishes, and put half the recipe amount on top of each one. EXCELLENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
So I read the reviews and followed the advice of some. I used thin chops, and I seasoned them front and back with salt and pepper. I brought the sauce ingrediants to a boil in a small saucepan first but I added about 1 tbls. of honey to the mixture. I poured most of it over the chops, baked it at 300 covered for 20 min. and then poured the rem. mixture over the chops and then baked it for an additional 10 min, and took the cover off for the last 10. No complaints at my house, my husband is a picky eater and thought these were great and NOT dry. I recommend cooking at a lower temperature, it should make it tender. If you want to get them super tender, try the temp at 250 for possibly a longer time. Great and simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by calead910

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2002
We only had a short amount of time, so I did this dish on the stovetop by cooking the pork chops first, then simmering it in the brown sugar, butter, and worchestershire sauce for about 10 mins . It came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
This turned out really well for me with a few suggestions from other reviewers. I just made two porkchops, and marinaded them in butter, brown sugar and soy sauce (a little more than called for b/c my hand slipped while pouring:)) for an hour before hand. I lined the baking pan with foil and am very glad I did come clean up time. When it was time to put it in the oven, I sprinkled just a little pepper and nutmeg and put about a half tsp of butter and brown sugar on each chop and resprinkled with soy sauce. I baked for about 25-30 minutes and took the foil off for the last 10 minutes, broiling for 5 minutes on each side. Came out delicious! Tender and just a hint of sweet. Thanks Jodi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlotte, Michigan, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2002
Not bad at all, but I didn't have time to read all the reviews first though. If I had, I would have marinated the chops for a while as a lot of people recommended. I baked mine in a foil-lined baking dish, so cleanup was easy. I ended up with a fair amount of liquid in the dish (some of it fat, of course) but I didn't really see it as 'sauce' like people have described, so we didn't use it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2003
This was very good. Next time I'll use thicker chops, got a little dry. Also marinated in brown sugar, margarine, and soy sauce for about an hour. Added onion to the baking dish. The baking in sugar and margarine carmelized the onions making the dish all the better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2003
These were very favorful! I think you get the best results by using the porkchops w/the bone. I melted the butter and then added the brown sugar to it to make a paste. I spread it over the chops and let them sit about an hour (flipped them once). I love the soysauce. These chops are sweet and tender! Everyone loved them, even my picky 13 yearold son.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2002
Really fast and easy recipe...delicious. The whole family loved it, even the fussy ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 420) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Brown Sugar Pork Chops

Sweet and juicy, brown sugar pork chops.

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Brown Sugar Meatloaf

See how to make a 5-star meatloaf that’s tangy and slightly sweet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States