Brown Sugar Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
use thicker chops, sauce was yummy! He liked it. Good with rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
The meat itself was a little plain tasting but the sauce was very good. Next I will marinate as others stated and that should give the meat more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matthew A. Craig

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dundee, Michigan, USA
Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
I read several reviews before I prepared this dish and they were very helpful. I melted the butter and mixed the brown sugar and soy sauce together to make a marinade and did this for about an hour and half. Then I placed foil in my baking dish for less mess, made another mixture of the ingredients and poured it on top of the chops. I also poured the marinade all around the chops in the bottom of the dish. I then covered it and baked for 25 min at 350, I then uncovered it, set the broil to 500 and continued baking for 10 min. They turned out excellent! Moist and a delicious flavor. Cooking time is crucial, don't over cook, my chops were about 1/2" to 3/4" thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy3148
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
we loved it we put them in a slow cooker instead and added 1/2c of apple juice was so tender they melted in our mounth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Florence, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
As is, this recipe is a 4-star, but with the suggestions of others, it was a 5. I, too, melted the butter (not margarine) in a small sauce pan and added the sugar and soy sauce; I also added garlic powder and a little honey, then poured the sauce over the chops (used boneless, about 3/4" thick) and let it sit in the fridge for about 45 minutes before baking. I think the baking time for this recipe is WAY too long, unless you're using 1-1/2" or thicker chops. I baked for 35 minutes then broiled each side for 5 minutes. These were very tender & tasty and, yes, indeed, the kids ate these up without complaint, which is unusual when serving pork chops (I usually have to cut them up and "hide" them in a stir-fry or soup!) I will definitely make these again with the alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StayHomeCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA
Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
OMG. I've been making these for years! When I first read the recipe, I was skeptical that it would be any good,(I was a picky cook back then and not too big on soy sauce....dumb!)but let me tell you, it's a no fail recipe. Everyone loves it. It also works with chicken. Very simple and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Yummmmmm. I forgot about the soy sauce and used about half brown sugar/half honey, and probably a little extra butter. Melted and mixed the sauce ingredients, let it cool a bit, then coated both sides of some pork steaks that had been seasoned with salt and pepper. Let that sit for about 15 minutes or so, sprinkled with a little more ground pepper, then into the oven for about an hour. Browned up nicely without a cover the last 15-20 minutes. Tender, juicy, lightly sweet. Oven roasted some chopped potatos with a little olive oil for a nice side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
This recipe was a success in my home! I read some of the suggestions for this recipe and what I did was melt the butter on a small pot and then add the brown sugar and soy sauce. Once everything was dissolved I poured the sauce over the pork chops which had been sprinkled with brown sugar. The chops were only partially defrosted and I only let them sit on the sauce for as long as it took to preheat the oven. I baked them at 350 F for 35 min.and flipped them halfway. Broiled for 3 min. Very Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miraflores, Lima, Peru
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
I never have leftovers. It is fantastic. My family thinks it tastes like ham. I did marinate the chops first and line the pan with foil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
Great way to prepare chops. This has become a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 423) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Brown Sugar Pork Chops

Sweet and juicy, brown sugar pork chops.

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Brown Sugar Meatloaf

See how to make a 5-star meatloaf that’s tangy and slightly sweet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States