Brown Sugar Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 11, 2009
These were actually good! But I like flavor in my food, so i seasond the pork chops with garlic powder, onion powder and pepper. Or you can season them with what ever you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
I made these exactly as written except I used 1 1/2" boneless chops. I have never had pork chops turn out so moist! Next time I am going to take other reviewers' suggestion of mixing the ingredients and marinating the chops before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
My kids and husband loved this dish! it was so easy and tasted awesome. Next time I make it I will make a sauce out of the brown sugar and butter to pour over the chops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
use thicker chops, sauce was yummy! He liked it. Good with rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
The meat itself was a little plain tasting but the sauce was very good. Next I will marinate as others stated and that should give the meat more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dundee, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
I read several reviews before I prepared this dish and they were very helpful. I melted the butter and mixed the brown sugar and soy sauce together to make a marinade and did this for about an hour and half. Then I placed foil in my baking dish for less mess, made another mixture of the ingredients and poured it on top of the chops. I also poured the marinade all around the chops in the bottom of the dish. I then covered it and baked for 25 min at 350, I then uncovered it, set the broil to 500 and continued baking for 10 min. They turned out excellent! Moist and a delicious flavor. Cooking time is crucial, don't over cook, my chops were about 1/2" to 3/4" thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy3148
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
we loved it we put them in a slow cooker instead and added 1/2c of apple juice was so tender they melted in our mounth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Florence, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
As is, this recipe is a 4-star, but with the suggestions of others, it was a 5. I, too, melted the butter (not margarine) in a small sauce pan and added the sugar and soy sauce; I also added garlic powder and a little honey, then poured the sauce over the chops (used boneless, about 3/4" thick) and let it sit in the fridge for about 45 minutes before baking. I think the baking time for this recipe is WAY too long, unless you're using 1-1/2" or thicker chops. I baked for 35 minutes then broiled each side for 5 minutes. These were very tender & tasty and, yes, indeed, the kids ate these up without complaint, which is unusual when serving pork chops (I usually have to cut them up and "hide" them in a stir-fry or soup!) I will definitely make these again with the alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StayHomeCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA
Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
OMG. I've been making these for years! When I first read the recipe, I was skeptical that it would be any good,(I was a picky cook back then and not too big on soy sauce....dumb!)but let me tell you, it's a no fail recipe. Everyone loves it. It also works with chicken. Very simple and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Yummmmmm. I forgot about the soy sauce and used about half brown sugar/half honey, and probably a little extra butter. Melted and mixed the sauce ingredients, let it cool a bit, then coated both sides of some pork steaks that had been seasoned with salt and pepper. Let that sit for about 15 minutes or so, sprinkled with a little more ground pepper, then into the oven for about an hour. Browned up nicely without a cover the last 15-20 minutes. Tender, juicy, lightly sweet. Oven roasted some chopped potatos with a little olive oil for a nice side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 416) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Brown Sugar Meatloaf

See how to make a 5-star meatloaf that’s tangy and slightly sweet.

Brown Sugar Smokies

Nothing beats bacon-wrapped sausages on a stick!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States