Brown Sugar Chocolate Crackle Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
Cookies were tasty. But I'm wondering if 1 cup of flour is correct. The "dough" was more like batter til chilled for a long time. Even after 4 hours of chilling, the cookies still spread pretty flat when baking. 1 cup of flour and 1 cup of chocolate chips does not sound like proper proportions. Just wondering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frannie Turrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lackawanna, New York, USA
Living In: Damascus, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2001
This has incredible chocolate flavor! It was just what I was looking for flavor wise, but when ready to take out of the oven it's almost impossible. The batter spreads so much a and stays so crumbly and oozy that when I tried to pick it up with the spatula the cookie kept falling apart and I had to just take each one and put it on the cooling rack and then shape it back to a cookie shape because it completely looses it's shape if you touch it while it's in the oven. Before this batter is even cooked though this recipe would make a great fudge I think. Anyway, I highly reccomend this recipe for seriouse chocolate lovers like me, but try to figure out a way so it's not so impossible to get the cookies out of the oven first! I just went back and put the rest of the batter into a small glass baking dish about 4 inches deep and about 9 inches lone and 4 inches wide and baked it. That's the way to do it atleast for me until I can find a way to do it in cookie form. This was it is a bit like fudge or a brownie. Very good regardless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2003
This is a wonderful recipe, but I would recomend reducing the oil to 1/3 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2001
These cookies turned out great for me. They were very soft coming out of the oven, but I had no trouble moving them to the racks. The flavor and texture were wonderful. I just put the dough in the freezer for about 45 minutes befor baking. I made these for my 7 year old daughter's piano recital and they were a big hit with the kids and parents alike. I will make many more batches of these yummy cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by windband
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
I've made them twice. The first time they turned out great, tasted like cookies. The second time they were a little too soft, more like brownies in cookie shape. overall they are like brownies, smelled like brownies when baking. A little sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by windband

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
Mmm.. These were heavenly. I made these last night and my sister and I gobbled them up. Following a reviewer's advice, I reduced the oil to 1/3c. Surprisingly, the cookies do spread alot so they tasted like crispy thin cookies. Nevertheless, delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Java_Girl
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
Great for chocolate lovers. These taste exactly like a recipe I made off of a Baker's baking chocolate box one time. They tasted as great then as they do now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Java_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Amazing.... after a few changes from reading the reviews. Of course I didnt want droopy cookies, so I added 1/4 cup cocoa to batter to thicken it up and I stuck it in the freezer for a 1/2 hour (cause im too impatient to wait for them in the fridge!). I used butter instead of oil cause thats what I had and I didnt dip them in powdered sugar, just to eliminate the mess. I also added semi sweet chips to the batter. Well... they are amazing! Chocolate paradise! The stayed plump and round and perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
I made these for a neighbor who lost his father (plus more for my sister and mom, and my house) and they all got rave reviews. I did use pecans since I didn't have walnuts and added white chocolate chips. They were great and will be made again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Boman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Belton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
Very dense for a crackle cookie is recommend using less oil. But very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Jumbo Dark Chocolate Cookies

These dark chocolate cookies will double your chocolate delight.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States