Brown Sugar Chocolate Crackle Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2001
This has incredible chocolate flavor! It was just what I was looking for flavor wise, but when ready to take out of the oven it's almost impossible. The batter spreads so much a and stays so crumbly and oozy that when I tried to pick it up with the spatula the cookie kept falling apart and I had to just take each one and put it on the cooling rack and then shape it back to a cookie shape because it completely looses it's shape if you touch it while it's in the oven. Before this batter is even cooked though this recipe would make a great fudge I think. Anyway, I highly reccomend this recipe for seriouse chocolate lovers like me, but try to figure out a way so it's not so impossible to get the cookies out of the oven first! I just went back and put the rest of the batter into a small glass baking dish about 4 inches deep and about 9 inches lone and 4 inches wide and baked it. That's the way to do it atleast for me until I can find a way to do it in cookie form. This was it is a bit like fudge or a brownie. Very good regardless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2001
These cookies turned out great for me. They were very soft coming out of the oven, but I had no trouble moving them to the racks. The flavor and texture were wonderful. I just put the dough in the freezer for about 45 minutes befor baking. I made these for my 7 year old daughter's piano recital and they were a big hit with the kids and parents alike. I will make many more batches of these yummy cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2002
I usually can't bake anything right, but these were easy and turned out great: My 2 year can vouch for that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2003
Wasn't quite results I was hoping for. The flavor was good but the texture was too cakey and they cookies really didnt flatten out. Then remained like a small hill on the cookie sheet. I'm looking for a cookie that really flattens out when baking. The center is chewey and the edges crispy. Van de Kamps bakery in Los Angeles made a cookie like this that was just terrific. Thanks, Josh
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2003
This is a wonderful recipe, but I would recomend reducing the oil to 1/3 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
These are good cookies, I think. My problem was I made them in my toaster oven and the powdered sugar burned on the bottoms. They were tasty enough, though that I'll try them in my new oven when it comes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nevada City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
I used a mixture of milk chocolate chips and peanut butter chips and WOW were the cookies good! I even added extra chips (not melted) into the batter. I skipped the refrigeration (impatient) and also skipped the powdered sugar, and they were still really good! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Java_Girl
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
Great for chocolate lovers. These taste exactly like a recipe I made off of a Baker's baking chocolate box one time. They tasted as great then as they do now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Java_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
These are pretty tasty. I reduced the oil to 1/3 cup like another reviewer suggested, but other than that followed the recipe. I only had 3/4 cup of chocolate chips on hand, but they still turned out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sixkyej

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
Easy, no-mess (use the same bowl you melted the chocolate in) and a hit with the children, who loved helping to coat them. We made these 4 times in one week, and there weren't any left over at night! Thanks for great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States