Brown Sugar Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
Great recipe! Turned out perfect. The reason another users came out runny was because it was not heated to the proper temp. Sugar is a very tricky substance to work with so temp. is very important. Too cool of temp makes it soft or runny and too hot will make it hard or crumbly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Dawn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yuba City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
It was my first time making any candy like this and i think i stirred it for to long because it was more crystally than i would have expected. Nevertheless it was good, and i will definitly try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cyndierella27

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
I have been looking for this type of recipe for years! I really don't like the "soft" fudge at all and all the recipes I have tried seem to produce that texture. This is the one I was looking for exactly! This fudge is often found at church bake sales. THANK YOU so much for sharing! Lorrie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorrie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
this is a great candy also called blond fudge. it's just like granny use to make!!! yum yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Eganville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
This is really good candy & so easy. I guess I didn't cook the milk & sugar long enough at first because when I put it all in the pan it was REALLY runny looking, and so I took a chance and put it ALL (butter & all) back into the pot and boiled it longer, (probably another 3-4 minutes) and then poured it back into the pan. Then in the refrigerator... I didn't know how it would turn out, but it worked! Very good texture, and so easy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Koller

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seagoville, Texas, USA
Living In: Kaufman, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
Exactly what I was looking for! My grandmom use to make this all the time when I was growing up. She couldn't remember how to make it and I found this! My family loved it, it was like a walk down memory lane! Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
it tastes like a sugar browny....i used splenda mixed with brown sugar and it was delicious! definitely better with the walnuts..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zafah7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mamaroneck, New York, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
VERY similar to one of my favorite candies from See's. The pecan roll. Has a grainy ALMOST crumbly type texture. I halved the recipe the first time I made it, just so I could see what I was getting myself into. I decided it was a wee bit sweet for me so the second time around I cut back on some of the sugar. It was great !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sasha

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
I gave this 5 stars because it is delicious! Mine turned out too soft so they were obviosly not cooked to the right temperature, but still very good! I put in more walnuts and while stirring the mixture I could not help but eat the coated walnuts, as they were simply delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomofTynTrev

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
I'm not sure what happened to my batch but it seems to be much more like a soft chewy caramel than any type of fudge or candy I've made before. Is that right? Is that how it's supposed to turn out?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Measure Brown Sugar

See the simple trick to measuring brown sugar.

How to Make Hard Candy

Master the technique of making colorful hard candy in 99 seconds.

How to Decorate a Candy Cane Cake

This festive candy cane cake will delight your holiday guests.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States