Brown Sugar Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Takes a while to stir it cool, so plan ahead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Delicious and easy. Mine was slightly grainy, but still yummy. Almost stirred my arm off. Would a mixer set on the "stir" setting work?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
This is like my Grams! I've been trying to replicate hers over the years without success and this one is the closest one I've found. Thanks! I can taste that I scorched it just a tiny bit, so I will have to be careful not to have the burner too high next time, but the consistency of it is sort of sugary, not creamy, and that is exactly the way hers turned out. After you take it off the burner just keep stirring like mad, I even would hold the spoon up and let it flow off the spoon to assist in the cooling. Be careful if you do that. Then the candy sort of starts to get thick and a bit grainy looking, although it doesn't lose it's gloss completely. That's when you want to pour it into the pan, otherwise, if you wait too long, you will end up spreading it roughly in the pan and it's harder to work with. I chose not to use nuts, I don't like walnuts much, if I choose nuts next time, I may do it with some roughly chopped toasted pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
This was my favorite candy this Christmas! It was so easy to make; I was a little worried because I don't have a candy thermometer, but the process was explained so well. I ate the last piece of it today and I think I'm going to make more for New Year's Eve!! Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
A real winner, with no nuts...just melts in your mouth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Both times I made this, it burned and I'm puzzled as to why. I have a candy thermometer and I watched the temp closely and I know my stove top is hot so I turned it down to only medium heat but it still burned the second time around too. Am I supposed to stir it while its cooking or not? Usually candy recipes are very specific about stirring, but not this one. Can anyone help me?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
This is really good candy & so easy. I guess I didn't cook the milk & sugar long enough at first because when I put it all in the pan it was REALLY runny looking, and so I took a chance and put it ALL (butter & all) back into the pot and boiled it longer, (probably another 3-4 minutes) and then poured it back into the pan. Then in the refrigerator... I didn't know how it would turn out, but it worked! Very good texture, and so easy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Koller

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seagoville, Texas, USA
Living In: Kaufman, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
VERY similar to one of my favorite candies from See's. The pecan roll. Has a grainy ALMOST crumbly type texture. I halved the recipe the first time I made it, just so I could see what I was getting myself into. I decided it was a wee bit sweet for me so the second time around I cut back on some of the sugar. It was great !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sasha

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
A lady at my church used to include this in her Christmas candy gifts many, many years ago. I looked forward to this candy all year! This recipe turned out perfectly. It will be added to my Christmas candy from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Union, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
I gave this 5 stars because it is delicious! Mine turned out too soft so they were obviosly not cooked to the right temperature, but still very good! I put in more walnuts and while stirring the mixture I could not help but eat the coated walnuts, as they were simply delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomofTynTrev

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Measure Brown Sugar

See the simple trick to measuring brown sugar.

How to Make Hard Candy

Master the technique of making colorful hard candy in 99 seconds.

How to Decorate a Candy Cane Cake

This festive candy cane cake will delight your holiday guests.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States