Brown Sugar Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2007
I made these rolls again yesterday and they are so fantastic! They are easy and quick and a great knockoff for cinnamon rolls. They bake up a bit flaky but soft and the next day are terrific popped in the microwave. I make a simple cream cheese frosting to top them, pair them with fruit and we are set for breakfast. I will continue to make these great rolls. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2003
Move over Cinnabun! I used "I can't believe it's not butter light" instead of shortening, skim milk and sprinkled chopped pecans over the brown sugar. My husband went nuts! Will make for the extended family at the next early morning get together. Used the icing at the end too! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOULEC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2002
Quick and easy. Tasted great. Kids loved them and so did the picky hubby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2003
oh, good heavens are these delicious! I was desparate to play with some dough in my dorm and have some breakfast food in my room for when I dash out the door in the morning. I was running low on my baking supplies and didn't have any yeast, so I was very excited to have found a recipe without much preparation time needed. I mixed up some glaze to put on top-oh, how they melted in my mouth! I got a lot of dirty looks when I told others I wasn't sharing (I ended up sharing anyway-grrrr) and now I have only four left. I am going to make these all the time now! talk about giving me a good reason to wake up in the morning! The only modification I made was I mixed the filling together and THEN spread it on the dough-I made a little more filling than called for and poured the extra on the bottom of the baking pan before I placed the rolls in it. This makes them nice and gooy on the one side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2003
these biscuits were pretty good! i was surprised after reading all the bad reviews but i decided to give it a try anyway- i was out of cream of tartar so i just skipped that ingredient but it came out great! a tip for others- make sure you flour your surface and hands alot before rolling the dough because it was a little sticky. instead of spreading the butter and then sprinkling brown sugar and cinnamon i mixed all three together and spread it. well, again this recipe rocked! thanks monstermama!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2003
The dough for this recipe is very similar to my biscuit recipe. I made these just like I would my biscuits and they came out nice and flaky. I did not use the icing at all. I just kneaded the dough briefly, patted it out and cut with my biscuit cutter and baked. Really have to be careful not to overwork biscuit dough or you will have hard/dry biscuits. My husband said that these tasted like cookies. What a pleasant change of pace to my standard biscuits that I serve. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne Oberlin Rutkowski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
I can't stop eating these! They are definitely biscuits and not cinnamon rolls, but delicious nonetheless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nevada City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
great!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
I loved this recipe. These are like biscuits or scones not like the soft chewy cinnamon bun ,the texture,is kindda crispy. i made them with half whole wheat flour,and half canola oil and butter and they were lovely cozy little treats. I will certainly make these again often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by claudia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montevideo, Montevideo, Uruguay
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
I enjoy these on the weekends instead of the typical weekday bowl of cereal. I get requests for them very often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States