Brown Sugar Banana Nut Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
This was very good. I read the other reviews and increased the flour and bananas. It didn't completely cook in the bread machine, so I took it out and put it in the oven at 350 for 1/2 hour. Came out nice an brown and tasty. The next day was even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRANLIE0301

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carteret, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Riverside, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Best bread ever... So easy as this was only my second time making bread. I almost ate it all myself without sharing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
I just want to start with the fact that I modified this due to lack of ingredients, personal preference and after reading other reviews. I didn't add nuts (I didn't have any) and I only had one ripe banana. I also added 1 1/2 tablespoons of Cinnamon and 1 tablespoon of Vanilla and another 3/4 cup of Flour (I mixed wheat with bread flour). I also substituted the white sugar with honey (we had just gotten some local honey). When all was said and done, this came out amazingly better than I expected. It was great. Next time I'll add the banana and walnuts that I did not have (but it was still great without them). I'll definitely be trying this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Breitlauch

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
not very good at all - when it is mixing is it more like cake batter & it was higher (by about a inch)near the sides of the pan than the middle - it looked like it fell. My hubby asked what I did wrong (I had made the Banana Bread - Quick Bread for Machines a few days before & that was delicious-it was gone before the night was over) I told him I tried a diff recipe & he said "why?! the other one was so good!" This recipe seemed to not have enough flour, but all you can taste is the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Very bland... I added extra nuts, banana, flour and honey and was still not very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
This bread was not very good at all. I followed the suggestions to add a cup of flour and also added cinnamon and vanilla, and it was still tasteless, yet yeasty. Plus it didn't rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
This came out rather dark and dense with a wonderful flavour. My husband ate nearly half the loaf by himself and told me it was really good, so I will ba making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
changed it up a bit added 1/2T each molasses & honey, 1/2 C oats, 1 t cornstarch and 1 small canned pear and some juice, made on 2# super rapid cycle. It smells yummy so far. leaqving it in machine to cool for 10 or so minutes then we will consume warm with butter for dessert tonight. this original recipe is my base recipe then I add and subtract from that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Napa, California, USA
Living In: Willows, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
This bread was just ok. Edible, but not delicious. Not much flavor, as others stated. Was good when we put some honey on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
After reading other comments, I ended up added extra flour and vanilla. It turned out good. I will try this recipe again using 2 1/4 c. flour to start with. This is the first sweet bread I have made in my bread machine so was unsure how the dough should look at the end of the second kneading and ended up adding just a tad too much flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mccormick, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Meeker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States