Brown Sugar Banana Nut Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Even with 4 bananas something else (maybe the brown sugar itself) overpowered the banana flavor. The texture was also not what we're use to in a banana bread. The really odd part was the black flecks you usually get with banana bread, were no where to be found.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
This recipe indroduced me to this site. I love how it uses butter instead of shortening and the liberal use of vanilla. I usually omit the walnuts and always omit salt when using salted butter. I get rave reviews whenever i make this bread to share and I have yet to throw away any leftovers because it has been hanging around the house too long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Love it! Its the best b bread I've made. Very moist and the vanilla makes it extra tastey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
this is my first time ever making banana bread! and this recipe is very basic and has so much room to customize to your personal taste. love it love it love it! will make it again in the future :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
Not a very sweet bread, easy to make though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
This was nice, but not great in my opinion. I only had 3 very ripe bananas. I added a dash more vanilla and a dash more salt. Also, used pecans instead of walnuts. This was lacking in flavor, but it may be that I am missing the flavor of the walnuts, and maybe the additional banana would have made the difference - still good though. Will try again with the walnuts and the additional banana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
I thought this was a little too sweet and I am a sweet eater.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pine, Colorado, USA
Living In: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
loved it! I only had 3 bananas and thought it still turned out well. I also added a dash of cinnamon to batter and sprinkled brown sugar on top before baking. what a simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Virginia, USA
Living In: Farmville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
Awesome!!!! I added freash raspberries & dried cranberries!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
I made this bread and it wasn't as sweet as I expected it to be. I only used 2 bananas, because that's all I had, that probably played a role in the sweetness... or lack of it. Next time I try making it, I will use 4 bananas, as the recipie calls for..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 290) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States